Federalism (1994-heute)

According to Immanuel Kant, it is so easy to remain immature. But it was exactly this immaturity of the Belgium's three cultural communities that led to major tensions in centrally-governed Belgium and ultimately to the series of state reforms which restructured Belgium from 1967 onwards. It soon became clear that shaping autonomy required politicians to take on a lot of responsibility. Using the history of East Belgium as an example, I would like to show you why we need responsible people more than ever, people willing and able to engage in politics – and not just in East Belgium. 

The six state reforms (1967-1971, 1980-1985, 1988-1992, 1993, 2001 und 2012-2014) have transformed Belgium into a federal state. Each reform increased the competences and budget of the Council of the German Cultural Community (1973-1983), the Council of the German-speaking Community (1983-2004) and finally the Parliament of the German-speaking Community (since 2004), with more and more decisions being taken in Eupen. But the other side of the coin was that the politicians in Eupen became responsible for these decisions, whether for education and training, for heritage preservation, for the media or the health system, for employment and social policy. On account of this growing responsibility and due to the increased complexity of political problems, East Belgian policymaking has become increasingly professional.

The guiding principles of these state reforms were federalism and subsidiarity. Via the federal principle, the Belgian state wanted to share its powers between the central government in Brussels and the individual federal states (referred to as Communities and Regions), while the intention of subsidiarity was to allow the state to delegate tasks to lower levels when they could be better fulfilled at such levels.

PDG

At the same time, the political landscape was changing in East Belgium: Firstly, the generation of politicians responsible for shaping autonomy was moving into retirement, leaving the stage free for younger politicians. These earned their spurs in their parliamentary work with its many new competences, generally ignoring the tensions of the previous decades. Secondly, there was a change in government. Up to 1999, the Christian Social Party (CSP) had been the dominant party, leading every government coalition. But this changed in 1999, when other parties took over government responsibility, excluding the CSP. Moreover, new parties emerged and gained a foothold in the political landscape.

In 1998, all parties represented in the Council presented the federal government with a joint demand for further autonomy. This demand also contained a call to take over powers held by the Region. The period of cacophony in East Belgian politics had come to an end.

Again and again, the Parliament of the German-speaking Community repeated its demand for further powers. In 2007, all parties in the Parliament adopted a unanimous resolution outlining a vision for the future of the German-speaking Community: The Community was to remain part of a federal Belgian state, with the same rights as the other language communities, all this within the framework of the European Union. This vision was backed in 2014 by a declaration of principle endorsed by all parties except one splinter party. The German-speaking politicians called for a four-member Belgium, a "Belgien zu Viert", i.e. East Belgium was to develop into a federal state ("Bundesland") with the same powers as the other Communities and Regions. The aim of this declaration was to reduce red tape and make decision-making more transparent. The East Belgian parties also wanted to see other government structures removed, such as the provinces, in existence since 1830.

Politicians in the German-speaking Community find themselves continually faced with fundamental questions:

  • What is the price tag on autonomy and the protection of a minority? A concrete example: Does every law passed by the Walloon Region or the central government in Brussels have to be translated for the German-speaking minority?
  • How far should autonomy and the protection of a minority go? A concrete example: Does the minority need specific representation in the two chambers of the Belgium national parliament (the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate)? Is the only way for it to have its interests represented at national level?
  • What happens when the economically strong Belgian regions withdraw their support? A concrete example: Can the German-speaking minority survive in a society dominated by the other two language communities?

Practical issues are similarly important:

  • The institutional landscape is set to continue changing. Should East Belgium exercise further powers alone or should it do so through cooperations?
  • Will East Belgium always be able to find the necessary experts to fulfil the tasks accruing to it through further devolution.

Federalism is dependent on solidarity, and this needs to be very carefully balanced.

Autonomy has helped boost the development of the rural and structurally weak areas of East Belgium. While the area around Eupen benefits from its proximity to Liege, Maastricht and Aachen (unemployment rate in 2016: 10.8%), the Belgian Eifel region enjoys virtually full employment (unemployment rate in 2016: 4.3%) due to its proximity to Luxembourg. The overall unemployment rate in East Belgium in 2017 was 7.3%, under that of Belgium as a whole (7.8%).

Looking at the region's motorway links, it is crossed in the north by the Cologne-Brussels motorway and north-south by the Verviers-Trier motorway. Public transport is however not very good. Due to autonomy and the efforts of the region's many small and medium-sized companies, many new jobs have been created over the last few decades. Nevertheless, many East Belgians still commute to work in neighbouring countries and regions. According to official figures, in 2014:

  • 3,146 East Belgians worked in the French-speaking region (while 5,086 Walloons worked in East Belgium),
  • some 6,000 in Germany (some 500 Germans worked in East Belgium),
  • 60 in the Netherlands,
  • 376 in Flanders (389 Flemings worked in East Belgium),
  • 322 in Brussels (71 Brussels inhabitants worked in East Belgium),
  • while 4000 commuted to Luxembourg.

Against this background, East Belgian politicians would like to see the region's economic development put in their own hands. This is why the German-speaking Community is working closely with the Walloon Region, the holder of such powers. At the same time, East Belgian politicians are calling for example for spatial planning powers, allowing them to shape economic policy themselves. Since taking over responsibility for schools, the East Belgian parties have also identified education as a key element of economic development policy, backing this up with a series of measures. The region's apprenticeship system, based on the two pillars of vocational colleges and on-the-job learning) is gaining currency throughout Belgium. The East Belgian youth unemployment rate in 2016 was 13%.

The period between the federalisation of Belgium (completed in 1994) and the present day has not yet come under the scrutiny of historians. One of the reasons for this is the 30-year archiving requirement before documents are released. Nevertheless, the first studies in the fields of sociology, politics and law are beginning to appear. Looking in the mirror could be an exciting task for East Belgian historians.

As you will have seen, East Belgium has changed a lot over the past few decades, on the basis of developments in the 1970's. Their initial intention was to better organise interaction between the French- and Dutch-speaking parts of Belgium. But for the East Belgians, the main focus was on protecting the German language and culture in Belgium. This all triggered a series of six reforms, completely federalising the country. The German-speaking Community is now to a large extent itself responsible for its future. Are you ready and prepared to assume responsibility for yourself and your immediate environment?

 

  • 2009

    Eröffnung Triangel

  • 2005

    Gründung autonome Hochschule in der DG

  • 2003

    Aufbau neuer Pfarrstrukturen

  • Ausbau des Ravel-Wegenetzes

Fédéralisme (1994-heute)

D’après Emmanuel Kant, il est aisé d’être mineur. Mais c'est précisément cette immaturité des trois communautés culturelles en Belgique qui a provoqué de grandes tensions dans l'État central belge. À partir de 1967, le pays a entrepris de se réformer progressivement. Il est vite apparu que la formation de l'autonomie exigeait une grande responsabilité de la part des politiques. Je veux te montrer, à travers l'Histoire de la Belgique de l'Est, pourquoi nous avons plus que jamais besoin de figures politiques responsables et engagées - pas seulement en région de langue allemande.

Jusqu’à présent, la Belgique a évolué d’un État central vers un État fédéral en six réformes gouvernementales successives (1967-1971, 1980-1985, 1988-1992, 1993, 2001 et 2012-2014). Chaque réforme a élargi la compétence et les moyens du Conseil de la Communauté culturelle allemande (RdK 1973-1983), du Conseil de la Communauté germanophone (1983-2004) et enfin du Parlement de la Communauté germanophone (depuis 2014). Eupen devint le siège de plus en plus de prises de décisions et se vit dans le même temps attribuer de nouvelles responsabilités : l’enseignement et la formation, la protection des monuments, les médias, la santé, l’emploi et la politique sociale. Investis de responsabilités nouvelles et confrontés à des problèmes politiques plus complexes, les la Communauté Germanophone a vu son paysage politique se professionnaliser peu à peu.

Le principe directeur présidant à ces réformes fédérales résidait dans la distinction entre fédéralisme et subsidiarité. Par le principe de fédéralisme, l’État belge entendait distribuer son pouvoir entre l’État fédéral et les États fédérés (les Communautés et Régions). Par le principe de subsidiarité, l’État entendait déléguer des tâches à des niveaux inférieurs lorsque celles-ci pouvaient être mieux traitées à une échelle plus locale.

PDG

Dans le même temps, le paysage politique de la Communauté Germanophone s’est recomposé : d’un seul coup, on a assisté à un véritable renouvellement de toutes les classes politiques. Les grandes figures qui avaient contribué à la construction de l’autonomie de la région ont été remplacées par des personnalités politiques plus jeunes. Cette nouvelle génération de personnalités politiques, hautement compétente, a également pris part aux réflexions parlementaires jusqu’alors entravées par les habituelles tensions historiques. D’autre part, le parti chrétien-social (CSP) s’était maintenu à la tête de la coalition gouvernementale jusqu’en 1999. A partir de 1999, d'autres partis - à l'exception du Parti chrétien-social - ont assumé la responsabilité gouvernementale. De nouveaux partis ont également émergé.

En 1998, tous les partis représentés au Conseil ont pour la première fois effectué une demande conjointe auprès du gouvernement fédéral en vue de poursuivre la construction de l’autonomie. Ils ont dans le même temps réclamé la restitution des compétences régionales. Et c’en fut fini du joyeux désordre qui caractérisait jusqu’alors la politique de la Communauté Germanophone.

À de multiples reprises, le Parlement de la Communauté germanophone de Belgique réclama de nouvelles compétences. En 2007, tous les partis représentés au Parlement de la Communauté germanophone ont adopté à l’unanimité une résolution décrivant une nouvelle vision de l’avenir des Belges germanophones : un maintien dans un État fédéral belge avec une Communauté germanophone traitée sur un pied d’égalité avec les autres Communautés linguistiques, et ce au sein de l’Union européenne. En 2014, une déclaration de principe adoptée par tous les partis (à l’exception d’un tout petit parti politique) a réaffirmé cette vision. Les personnalités politiques germanophones plaidèrent pour une « Belgique à quatre ». La région de langue allemande devait par la suite obtenir les compétences d’une Région. Cette déclaration visait principalement à en finir avec la bureaucratie et à rendre les processus de décision plus transparents. Par la suite, les résolutions des partis politiques germanophones devaient sonner la fin d’autres structures étatiques à l’instar des Provinces, dessinées en 1830.

Les figures politiques de la minorité germanophone posent systématiquement des questions fondamentales :

  • Quel prix peut-on ou doit-on payer pour l’autonomie et la protection des minorités ? Un exemple concret : toutes les lois de la Wallonie ou de l’État fédéral belge doivent-elles être traduites pour que les Belges germanophones les comprennent également ?
  • Jusqu’où l’autonomie et la protection des minorités doivent-elles aller ? Un exemple concret : est-il nécessaire de garantir une représentation de la minorité à la Chambre des représentants (le Parlement fédéral belge) puisque c’est le seul moyen dont elle dispose pour exprimer ses intérêts dans la politique nationale ?
  • Que se passe-t-il lorsque les principales régions économiques ne font pas preuve de solidarité à l’égard des autres régions de l’État fédéral ? Un exemple concret : Une minorité peut-elle survivre sans une société majoritaire ?
  • Mais les questions d’ordre pratique sont tout aussi importantes : La Belgique va continuer de réformer ses institutions. La Communauté Germanophone devrait-elle administrer elle-même les nouvelles instances ou bien les faire administrer en coopération avec d’autres entités politiques ?
  • Trouveront-ils toujours le personnel nécessaire pour assumer des fonctions et responsabilités toujours plus vastes ?

On voit bien que le fédéralisme est tributaire de la solidarité entre les régions — et en la matière, il convient de trouver le juste équilibre.

L’autonomie a intensifié le développement des régions de l’Est de la Belgique, autrefois rurales et pauvres en infrastructures. Tandis que la région d’Eupen bénéficie de sa proximité avec Liège, Maastricht et Aix-la-Chapelle (taux de chômage en 2016 : 10,8 %), la partie belge de l’Eifel - quant à elle - affiche un taux de chômage pratiquement nul grâce à sa proximité avec le Luxembourg (taux de chômage en 2016 : 4,3 %). Le taux de chômage dans la Communauté Germanophone (7,3 % en 2017) se situe en dessous de la moyenne nationale (7,8 % en 2017).

La région est desservie par l’autoroute Cologne-Bruxelles au nord et par l’autoroute Verviers-Trêves au sud. Les raccordements des transports publics restent quant à eux insuffisants. Grâce à une classe moyenne active et à la mise en place de l'autonomie, de nombreux emplois ont pu être créés dans la région au cours des dernières décennies. Cependant, de nombreux Belges germanophones travaillent dans les pays et régions avoisinants. En 2014, d’après les estimations officielles :

  • 3 146 d’entre eux ont trouvé un travail dans la partie francophone de la Belgique (5 086 francophones travaillent en région de langue allemande) ;
  • environ 6000 Belges germanophones ont trouvé un emploi en Allemagne (500 Allemands à peu près travaillent dans la Communauté Germanophone) ;
  • 60 ont trouvé un emploi aux Pays-Bas ;
  • 376 ont trouvé un emploi en Flandres (389 Flamands travaillent dans la région) ;
  • 322 ont trouvé un emploi à Bruxelles (71 Bruxellois travaillent dans la région de langue allemande) ;
  • environ 4000 Belges germanophones se rendent tous les jours au Luxembourg pour travailler.

Dans ce contexte, les responsables politiques de l’Est de la Belgique souhaitent prendre des mesures pour rendre la région plus autonome et relancer son économie. La communauté germanophone travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Wallonie qui, elle, jouit de ces compétences. Dans le même temps, les responsables politiques de la Communauté Germanophone réclament, entre autres, le transfert de la compétence de l’aménagement du territoire à la région afin de pouvoir prendre des mesures personnalisées dans des domaines comme la politique économique. Depuis la restitution des compétences, les partis de la région ont joué un rôle clé dans l’enseignement et la culture de la région de langue allemande. Ils ont notamment grandement influencé les politiques économique et de développement et ont mis de nombreuses mesures en pratique. En Belgique, le système dual d’apprentissage est de plus en plus perçu comme une voie privilégiée pour l’obtention d’un certificat d’apprentissage ou d’un titre de maître-artisan. Le chômage touche 13 % des jeunes dans l’Est de la Belgique (2016).

Les historiens ne se sont pas encore penchés sur l’étude de la période allant de la mise en place d’une organisation fédérale en Belgique (1994) jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Cette situation est notamment due au délai de trente ans de protection des archives qui préside à leur consultation. Toutefois, des premières études dans les domaines juridique, sociologique et des sciences politiques ont déjà été conduites. Un exercice d’introspection pourrait se révéler un défi passionnant pour les historiens de la région.

Comme tu peux le constater, la Communauté Germanophone a connu un développement au cours des dernières décennies dont les racines historiques remontent aux années 1970. A l'origine, l'objectif en Belgique était de mieux organiser la coexistence entre Flamands et francophones. Pour les Belges germanophones, la principale préoccupation était de protéger la langue et la culture allemandes en Belgique. Cela a entraîné une spirale de réformes étatiques qui pourrait bien se poursuivre au-delà des six réformes déjà effectuées à ce jour. Aujourd’hui, l’avenir des Belges germanophones est plus que jamais entre leurs mains. Es-tu prêt(e) toi aussi, à ton niveau, à en assumer la responsabilité ?
  • 2009

    Eröffnung Triangel

  • 2005

    Gründung autonome Hochschule in der DG

  • 2003

    Aufbau neuer Pfarrstrukturen

  • Ausbau des Ravel-Wegenetzes