Gaining a sense of identity (1973-1994)

At some stage in every person’s life, he or she wants to find out who they are, using the result to determine their purpose in life. The same is true for communities and minorities. Looking at the history of East Belgium, you will have noticed that many social groups in East Belgium in the 1960’s and 1970’s had completely different and even diametrically opposed views on the future of German-speaking Belgians. In 1973, they gained their own political representation, albeit with few powers. This political forum did however give them the opportunity to discuss their future and their identity. I often ask myself whether discussions of conflicting views are the only way of finding one’s identity – not just for this minority.

Societies in Western European underwent major changes in the 1970’s, as witnessed by the changing roles played by the Catholic church, membership of political organisations and traditional trades, and by women in society. The composition of families along traditional lines changed. At the same time more and more people wanted to “do their own thing”. Many went out onto the streets to demonstrate for peace. Things like environmental protection and cultural participation started becoming more important. Societies swung to and fro between common problems and goals (unemployment, securing prosperity, rising doubts about the future, etc.) and the new ego trip era of individualism.

Einsetzung

Belgium was a special case in this period, as the state was going through a crisis. The following issues were at stake: How should the Belgian state be shaped to solve the conflicts between the two large language communities, French-speaking Wallonia in the south and Dutch-speaking Flanders in the north. How should political participation and autonomy for the two large language communities and for the capital, Brussels, be shaped?

In East Belgium as well, the rural Catholic population found itself quickly adapting to the changes, with mobility and new forms of communication bringing the region out of its previous isolation. And here as well, similar questions were being asked. What was the future place of German-speaking Belgians in the changing structure of the Belgian state? How was their political participation to be shaped?

On 23 October 1973, the Council of the German Cultural Community was established. It had 25 members, all of whom were directly elected from 1974 onwards. Up to the establishment of its successor, the Council of the German-speaking Community in 1983, this first Council had only few powers and just a small budget. However, it quickly developed into an important forum for heated discussions over the future of the German-speaking region, thereby gaining major symbolic importance.

Politiker

These fundamental discussions revolved around two poles: Should the German-speaking Belgians adopt a federalist approach, putting forward maximum claims as a self-assured minority on a par with the other two language communities? Or should they, as an inward-looking minority, only have minimum rights in the new state structure, i.e. solely in the field of culture?

The traditional East Belgian parties (CSP, PFF, SP) opted in the 1970’s for a step-by-step policy, aimed at securing elementary cultural rights for German-speaking Belgians in harmony with their sister parties elsewhere in Belgium. They were not that interested in achieving the same rights as the other language communities. On the one hand, they found it hard to believe that a minority could have the same rights as a majority, while on the other hand any clear commitment to German culture was, for historical reasons, still considered anti-Belgian. These parties argued that the fate of the minority was very much dependent on the position of their national sister parties in Brussels. In retrospect, the stance of these parties can be described as collective hesitancy.

By contrast, the Party of the German-speaking Belgians (PDB, 1971-2009) saw itself in the driving seat, pushing for a form of autonomy for German-speaking Belgians on a par with that of the other language communities. In this respect, it had the backing of the Volksunie, a Flemish regional party. Their role model was the South Tyrolean People’s Party, a party that had achieved wide-reaching autonomy for South Tyrol in Italy through becoming the political representative of the vast majority of South Tyroleans, through putting forward constructive proposals to back their demands for greater autonomy, and through gaining recognition as the minority’s one and only mouthpiece. Through gaining a comparable level of autonomy, the PDB hoped to achieve social advancement for broad sections of the East Belgian populace and to improve the structurally weak region’s economic prospects.

Subventionen

The region’s history and different historical experiences overshadowed the political debates:

  • The PDB’s clear commitment to German culture and to the minority’s role in the Belgian state did not go down well with the traditional Belgian parties who viewed it as a “Heim ins Reich” (back to Germany) position and sought to conjure up the impression that the PDB was campaigning for separation from Belgium in the long run.
  • The traditional parties also had difficulties coming to terms with the minority's such self-assurance, expecting it instead to get down on its knees and show respect for the Belgian state. By contrast, the PDB discredited this stance, labelling it as chauvinism and doing its best to conjure up the impression that its political opponents in East Belgium were nothing more than the lackeys of the Walloon parties and not interested in defending the rights of the minority.

All that the political circles in Brussels could see coming out of East Belgian was a conflict between the regional parties over the visions for the region’s future. Indeed, the parties in the Council of the German Cultural Community only managed to partially agree on a common goal. This was probably the reason why the various state reforms were implemented in East Belgian many months or even years later than in Wallonia or Flanders.

Further debate over the identity of this minority were spurred in 1987 by the so-called Niermann affair. The PDB and its associated cultural organisations were found to have received funding from the German Hermann Niermann Foundation, a foundation with a board at times featuring members with an ultra-right-wing background. The PDB’s political opponents were quick to take this up, accusing the party of taking money from a German foundation – similar to what had happened in the inter-war years. Moreover, they saw their prejudices confirmed that the party was anti-Belgian, wanting to see the region become part of Germany again. This was repeatedly denied by the PDB. It admitted that this link to the foundation had been a mistake, pointing to the active role of two PDB members in ousting the right-wing members of the foundation’s board.

The discussions over the German-speaking Community’s public holiday and its coat-of-arms (1990) also bore witness to the conflicting identities of the elected representatives: With regard to the coat-of-arms, resort was made to the fact that the region had been part of the Duchies of Luxembourg and Limburg in the Early Middle Ages, thereby ignoring its more recent history. As the Community’s public holiday, the holiday celebrating the Belgian monarchy (15 November) was chosen. In doing so, the politicians were able to avoid a confrontation with the region’s own history.

In the meantime, Belgian underwent further state reforms restructuring the country. In 1980, the Regions were established in Belgium, with responsibility for economic affairs. Through this second state reform, the German Cultural Community became part of the Walloon Region. While having its proponents, this move also had fierce opponents, with many German-speaking Belgians fearing that, through being part of the Walloon Region, they would also be seen as part of the French language community, although for most East Belgians French was only their second language.

Politiker2

Established in 1973, the Council of the German Cultural Community was only able to issue decrees, but not to adopt laws, a power attributed solely to the French and Flemish Councils. This changed in 1984 with the establishment of the Council of the German-speaking Community. The second state reform allowed a Region (in this case the Walloon Region) to transfer some of its powers to a Community (in this case the German-speaking Community) in joint agreement. In 1989, Belgium’s language communities became responsible for education. As a result, the German-speaking Community’s budget shot up from €30 million to €80 million.

This all goes to show that these processes increasingly gave the German-speaking Belgians responsibility for shaping the region politically. On account of the increasing degree of federalisation, cultural autonomy became a natural part of the lives of German-speaking Belgians.

1993 marked a milestone in the reforms of the Belgian state, with the fourth State Reform rewording Article 1 of the Belgian Constitution to read: “Belgium is a federal state. It is made up of Communities and Regions.”

All of this took place against the backdrop of a changing Europe. As in many other parts of Europe, the environmental (“Green”) party Ecolo gained a place in East Belgium’s political landscape (as of 1981). The Treaty of Maastricht (1993) and the Schengen Agreement (1995) were further milestones on the road to European integration. These two developments had a great impact especially on German-speaking Belgians, simplifying their day-to-day life in many respects.

The history of East Belgium between the establishment of the Council of the German Cultural Community and the federalisation of Belgium has not yet been the subject of any great research, a fact attributable to the need for researchers to first catch up on the developments in the region between and during the world wars. Following initial hesitation, the period 1914-1950 dominated historical research for many years. But, beginning in the early 2000’s, historical research has increasingly focused on the position of German-speaking Belgians in the current political structure of Belgium.

As you have seen, the period between 1973 and 1993 was a time of change in East Belgium, laying the foundations for our modern, individualistic society. Finding our identity plays an important role in our day-to-day lives. What do you think? Did these controversial debates in East Belgium lead to progress or did they hinder the region in finding its new identity?
  • 1988

    Eifeler Interkommunale

    Die Gemeinden im Süden OB gründen eine Interkommunale für das Sozial- u. Gesundheitswesen. (ISG) - 1993, Interkommunale Gesellschaft als Träger für die alten- u. Pflegeheime; ab 2011 VIVIAS)

  • Unterrichtswesen wird Gemeinschaftskompetenz

  • 1977

    Belgischer Runfunk autonom

  • 1976

    Gründung des Sozial-Psychologischen Zentrums (SPZ)

  • 1972

    Worriken

    Grundsteinlegung für das Sport- u. Freizeitzentrum Worriken in Bütgenbach

  • 1971

    Naturpark Hohes Venn-Eifel

Autonomie (1973-1994)

Le mot « identité » est devenu un terme à la mode. Chacun souhaite découvrir son être profond et, partant de cela, être acteur de sa propre existence. Des communautés telles que les minorités sont également touchées par ce phénomène. En observant l’histoire des Belges germanophones, tu remarqueras que de nombreux groupes sociaux sur ce territoire affichaient des vues très différentes voire diamétralement opposées sur l’avenir des Belges germanophones durant les années 1960 et 1970. C’est en 1973 qu’un parlement aux pouvoirs limités leur a été octroyé. Ce forum à caractère politique donne la possibilité de débattre sur l’avenir et l’identité. Je me demande si des discussions enflammées permettent à elles seules d’évoluer dans sa recherche d’identité, et pas seulement dans le cas de cette minorité.

Les sociétés des pays d'Europe occidentale ont subi des transformations majeures durant les années 1970 : l’Église catholique, l’adhésion à des organisations politiques ou des groupes professionnels traditionnels, le rôle de la femme au sein de la société ou la composition de la cellule familiale selon un schéma classique ont exercé une influence très différente dans la vie de nombreuses personnes. Les questions d’épanouissement personnel, de paix, de protection de la nature ou de participation culturelle ont simultanément gagné une place prépondérante. Les sociétés étaient tiraillées entre les problèmes communs et les objectifs visés (chômage, maintien du niveau de prospérité, rupture de confiance, etc.) et la nouvelle ère du moi (réalisation personnelle, individualisme, etc.).

Einsetzung

L'inauguration du grouvernement de la Communauté Germanophone. Source: Staatsarchiv Eupen

La Belgique a joué un rôle particulier dans cette évolution. L’Etat était en crise. Les questions suivantes se sont posées : comment faire évoluer l’Etat belge afin de résoudre les conflits entre les grands groupes linguistiques flamands et wallons ? Comment organiser la participation et l’autonomie pour les deux grands groupes linguistiques ainsi que pour Bruxelles ?

Dans la région de langue allemande de Belgique, la communauté rurale catholico-conservatrice accepta également ces réformes à un rythme toujours plus soutenu. L’avènement de la mobilité et de nouveaux moyens de communication permirent de relier encore davantage les régions frontalières et de Belgique de l’Est. La question politique fondamentale était semblable dans les autres parties du territoire national : quel statut les germanophones obtiendraient-ils dans la Belgique en mutation et quelle serait leur participation politique ?

Le 23 octobre 1973, le Conseil de la Communauté culturelle germanophone (RdK) fut instauré. Il comptait 25 membres, élus au suffrage direct dès 1974. Le Conseil de la Communauté culturelle germanophone (RdK) ne disposait que de compétences mineures et d’un budget réduit jusqu’à la création en 1983 de la Communauté germanophone de Belgique. Il devint cependant rapidement une plate-forme majeure de discussion. On y réfléchissait, débattait et se disputait aussi avec ardeur sur l’avenir des Belges germanophones. Le Conseil prit ainsi une dimension hautement symbolique.

Politiker

Ces politiciens étaient importants pour l'histoire politique de la Communauté Germanophone: Alfred Evers (à gauche, PFF), Reiner Pankert (premier à droite, PDB), Henri Hoen (deuxième à droite), Johann Weynand (troisième à droite, CSP). Source: Staatsarchiv Eupen

Les débats de fond des Belges germanophones s’orientaient sur deux pôles : les Belges germanophones devaient-ils formuler un maximum de revendications en tant que minorité déterminée et groupe linguistique de droit égal ou devaient-ils demeurer une frange timide jouissant uniquement de droits culturels élémentaires dans de nouvelles structures ?

Les partis traditionnels de Belgique de l'Est (CSP, PFF, SP) ont opté au cours des années 1970 pour une politique dite des petits pas. Leur objectif de garantir les droits culturels élémentaires aux Belges germanophones concordait avec la politique de leurs partis mères en Belgique. Leur objectif n’était pas d’instaurer nécessairement l’égalité de droits avec les autres communautés culturelles. On manquait d’une part de conviction qu’une minorité puisse obtenir des droits identiques à ceux d’une majorité, et, d’autre part, un ressentiment historique persistait vis-à-vis de la culture allemande, considérant cette nation hostile à la Belgique. Ces partis argumentèrent que le destin de la minorité dépendait pour beaucoup de la position des partis mères nationaux. Avec le recul, on peut interpréter leurs agissements comme une réticence collective à s’engager.

Le Parti des Belges germanophones (PDB, 1971-2009) s’est - par contre - affirmé comme le leader des partisans d’une autonomie basée sur l’égalité des droits accordés à la minorité germanophone, au même titre qu’aux deux autres groupes linguistiques majeurs. Il est apparu dans la politique nationale belge grâce à son association avec la Volksunie, un parti régional flamand. Il souhaitait s’inspirer du Parti populaire sud-tyrolien qui avait gagné une autonomie étendue en parvenant à obtenir une large majorité de représentants politiques au Tyrol du Sud, à présenter des revendications d'autonomie de manière constructive pour être finalement reconnu comme porte-parole unique de la minorité en Italie. Le PDB voyait dans une autonomie de droit identique des opportunités d’ascension sociale pour une grande partie de la population ainsi que des perspectives économiques pour une région au potentiel structurellement faible.

Subventionen

Source: Staatsarchiv Eupen

Les multiples facettes de l’histoire et les expériences historiques diverses ont obscurci les débats politiques :

  • L’engagement univoque du PDB en faveur de la culture allemande et du rôle de sa minorité au sein de l’Etat belge ont été souvent diabolisés par les partis traditionnels, allant jusqu’à parler de « Retour au Reich ». L’opposition politique a tenté par cette stratégie de donner l’impression que son adversaire s’engageait dans un long combat en faveur de la séparation de la Belgique.
  • Les partis traditionnels redoutaient de s’affirmer clairement comme minorité. Le fait qu’ils ne jouaient qu'un rôle secondaire était pour eux un gage de fidélité envers l’Etat belge. Le PDB discrédita cette position en la qualifiant de chauvinisme. Ce parti a essayé ici de donner l’impression que l’adversaire n’était qu’une ramification mineure des partis wallons qui ne défendait pas les véritables intérêts de la minorité.

Les milieux politiques à Bruxelles n’ont pu qu’observer les désaccords entre partis des Belges germanophones à propos des visions d’avenir envisagées. Les partis ont rarement réussi à formuler des objectifs communs au Parlement de la Communauté germanophone si bien que la mise en œuvre des diverses réformes de l’Etat a duré jusqu’au début des années 2000 et nécessité quelques mois voire années supplémentaires dans les Cantons de l’Est par rapport aux Flamands et Wallons.

L’année 1987 donna lieu à de vifs débats, initiés par l’affaire Niermann, au sujet de l’affirmation identitaire de la minorité. Le parti régional PDB et les organismes culturels affiliés avaient accepté de l’argent de la part de la fondation allemande Hermann-Niermann qui avait abrité deux membres liés à l’extrême droite. Ceux-ci avaient temporairement siégé au conseil d’administration. Les adversaires politiques du PDB leur reprochèrent d’avoir d’une part accepté un financement d’une fondation allemande et ainsi approuvé la politique de germanisation de l'entre-deux-guerres, et virent d’autre part leurs préjugés renforcés à l’idée que ce parti était purement antibelge et n’aspirait qu’à un retour dans le giron allemand. Ces affirmations furent toutes démenties par le PDB. Il admit que ce rapprochement avait été une erreur et souligna le rôle actif de deux de ses membres dans le cadre du retrait des extrémistes du conseil d’administration.

Les discussions relatives au choix du jour férié de la communauté germanophone et de son blason (1990) ont également révélé les contradictions régnant au sein des élus du peuple : lors du choix des armoiries, on ne tint pas compte de la jeune histoire de la région mais plutôt du temps de son appartenance aux Duchés de Luxembourg et de Limbourg. Le jour fixé pour la Fête de la Communauté germanophone concordait avec la Fête du Roi (15.11.). L’utilisation de tels symboles évitèrent ainsi aux politiciens d’être confrontés à leur propre histoire.

La Belgique subit entre-temps d’autres réformes. Les régions apparurent en 1980 dans l’organisation territoriale belge avec le pouvoir de statuer sur les questions économiques. C’est par cette seconde réforme que la Communauté culturelle allemande devint partie de la Région wallonne. Ce rattachement comptait ses partisans, mais aussi de farouches opposants. La peur gagna de nombreux germanophones qui ont cru qu’en faisant partie de la Région wallonne, ils intégraient également l’espace linguistique francophone, bien qu’une grande majorité des Belges de l'Est ait de bonnes connaissances du français comme seconde langue.

Politiker2

Sur cette photo on voit en outre Ferdinand Dupont (SP), Albert Gehlen (CSP) et Johann Haas (CSP). Source: Staatsarchiv Eupen

Le Conseil de la Communauté culturelle germanophone, instauré en 1973 pouvait uniquement adopter des ordonnances mais aucune loi. Cette compétence était uniquement du ressort des Conseils culturels des communautés française et néerlandaise. Cette situation changea alors avec l’établissement en 1984 du Conseil de la Communauté germanophone (RDG). La deuxième réforme permettait la délégation de compétences régionales à la communauté d’un commun accord. Les communautés devinrent responsables en matière d’enseignement en 1989. Le budget de la Communauté passa de 30 à 80 millions d’Euros.

Tous ces arguments démontrent que les Belges germanophones ont acquis toujours plus de responsabilités dans l’organisation politique de leur région par ces processus. Grâce à la fédéralisation progressive, une autonomie culturelle réelle est apparue dans la vie des Belges germanophones.

L’année 1993 a été symboliquement celle des réformes d’Etat les plus notables. Depuis la quatrième réforme de l’Etat, le premier article de la Constitution du Royaume est : « La Belgique est un Etat fédéral qui se compose des communautés et des régions ».

Tous ces événements se sont produits dans un contexte d’Europe en mutation : le parti écologiste « Ecolo » (à partir de 1981) a réussi à s’affirmer dans le paysage politique de l’Est belge, profitant de la tendance verte présente ailleurs en Europe. Le traité de Maastricht (1993) et les accords de Schengen (1995) furent de nouveaux pas importants vers l’intégration européenne. Ceux-ci concernaient plus particulièrement les Belges germanophones, en tant que population frontalière. Leur quotidien a été sensiblement simplifié grâce à ces mesures.

L’Histoire de la Belgique de l’Est - entre la création du Conseil de la Communauté culturelle allemande et la fédéralisation de la Belgique - reste largement inexplorée. Cette situation est surtout due au fait que les historiens doivent encore effectuer des recherches sur les périodes de l’entre-deux-guerres et de la seconde guerre. Après des débuts hésitants, la recherche historique a surtout couvert l’intervalle entre 1914-1950. Dès les années 2000, les recherches historiques se sont également davantage penchées sur la place des Belges germanophones dans le paysage politique actuel du pays.

Tu peux remarquer qu’entre 1973 et 1993 la situation était agitée. Les bases de notre société moderne et individualiste sont issues de cette période. La recherche de notre identité est fondamentale dans la vie quotidienne. Qu’en penses-tu ? Ce débat a-t-il fait avancer la Belgique de l’Est ou a-t-il été un obstacle à cette recherche d’identité ?
  • 1988

    Eifeler Interkommunale

    Die Gemeinden im Süden OB gründen eine Interkommunale für das Sozial- u. Gesundheitswesen. (ISG) - 1993, Interkommunale Gesellschaft als Träger für die alten- u. Pflegeheime; ab 2011 VIVIAS)

  • Unterrichtswesen wird Gemeinschaftskompetenz

  • 1977

    Belgischer Runfunk autonom

  • 1976

    Gründung des Sozial-Psychologischen Zentrums (SPZ)

  • 1972

    Worriken

    Grundsteinlegung für das Sport- u. Freizeitzentrum Worriken in Bütgenbach

  • 1971

    Naturpark Hohes Venn-Eifel