Pursuit of Nazi collaboration (1945-1950)

Many people were killed, many villages destroyed in the war. Even neighbours fought each other during this war – with words, chicanery, denunciations and weapons. The injustice was incredible, and everybody felt hurt in some way or another. Moreover, the Eupen-Malmedy population had fought in the German army after the annexation, inter alia against Belgium, a country that was once again their fatherland. Let me ask you: After such a terrible war, how can a society find peace with itself and others? How can such injustice be made good? Is justice possible at all – after so many years suffering under a terrible dictatorship? East Belgium is a post-war society made up of different elements, but following a single and unique path.

In 1945, the Eifel and Ardennes regions were in ruins, while the region around Eupen was in a state of shock. A way had to be found to transition from wartime to peacetime.

Zerstoerung

The immediate post-war years in Belgium were marked by an urge for justice and revenge. After four years of German occupation, collaborators were supposed to pay the price of their actions, while spies and traitors were to be sentenced to death. Everything reminding people of the hated occupiers was to be eradicated. Indeed, many Belgians equated national socialism and German nationalism with the German language and culture. Though well-intentioned, denazification and the punishment of collaborators became anchored in the collective memory as “répression” and “épuration” (purge) Following Belgium’s liberation in 1944, a hysterical purge broke out, directed mainly against collaborators – similar to what happened in other occupied countries in Europe such as France, Czechoslovakia and Poland.

Beginning in September 1944, the purge did not spare East Belgium and its 60,000 inhabitants, and only drew to an end in the 1950’s. During this period, the Belgian Resistance – the so-called White Army – or the military inspectors in the ex-cantons of Eupen and Malmedy arrested 6000 - 7000 citizens, interning them in concentration camps or prisons. 18,427 court files were drawn up for the region’s 60,000 inhabitants, leading to 3,201 court cases and the sentencing of 1,503 citizens – four times the Belgian average. Some 10,000 citizens – this figure includes their families – were supposed to lose their Belgian nationality and be sent off to Germany. At the end of the day, a “mere” 461 citizens were affected by this measure of the Belgian state under a law adopted for this specific purpose.

Zimmermann

Many East Belgians lost part or all of their rights for a limited period or ad infinitum. For instance, in 1946 50% of the German-speaking male population was disenfranchised, while women did not gain the right to vote until 1948. Up to June 1946, more than 4,000 citizens were largely excluded from public life due to a negative certificate of good conduct. Companies, administrations, clubs, etc. fared no better. As countless files had been destroyed or taken away by the White Army, the military courts had little by way of concrete evidence, leading to the mayor of Eupen, Herr Zimmermann, calling on citizens to denounce traitors.

Was this the right thing to do? The Belgian government had not recognised the annexation of Eupen-Malmedy in 1940 as it contravened international law. Nevertheless, it had tacitly accepted or even supported the region’s transfer to Germany. After 1945, a strict regime was supposed to govern East Belgium. However, against the background of inner-Belgian tensions with regard to the purges, any special treatment seemed hardly possible. For this reason, the East Belgian civilian population as well as the 8,800 soldiers who had fought in the German army were supposed to be judged under the same criteria as the inhabitants of occupied Belgium, though the special role of East Belgium was obviously supposed to be at least taken into account. But this turned out to be practically impossible.

Michel

While the Belgian authorities needed quite a long time to understand what daily life had been like in Eupen and Malmedy during the Third Reich, the military courts complained that, though they had several reports involving possible collaborators, the Belgian Resistance had destroyed or taken away so many files that it was almost impossible to arrive at legally sound verdicts.

Within the population, the purges were for the most part considered to be unfair, as East Belgium had been “annexed and not occupied”. The first sentences were sometimes very harsh, though most of them were relaxed or even declared null and void upon appeal.

The post-war policy developed for East Belgium in Brussels and in the commissariat in Malmedy was also considered to be unfair, with the borders to Germany being for the most part shut and the East Belgians expected to now look to Belgium instead to Germany. An exaggerated Belgian nationalism was supposed to take hold of the region, while French was enforced in schools and local authorities.

For the Belgian Eifel, the post-war years were important for another reason as well. Lasting until the 1960’s, this was the reconstruction period. While most municipalities in Belgium had escaped destruction, the Battle of the Bulge had caused massive destruction in East Belgium. Under these circumstances, a number of Belgian municipalities took over sponsorships for villages in East Belgium, alleviating hardship through donations of food and household articles.

Grenze

The purges remained a taboo in the region until the 1990’s. At an emotional level, everyone had experienced and got over the period in different ways. The population had kept quiet about what had happened during the period, sticking their heads into the sand. They saw themselves as war victims due to the annexation or the forced conscription of young men into the German army, or as victims of the Battle of the Bulge or the post-war purges. It was only after the archives had been opened to the public that the first studies appeared, looking at the episode from a scientific perspective. The question remains unanswered to this day why the purges were unsuccessful in achieving their basic intention of administering justice, but were seemingly successful in installing peace.

This example shows how difficult it was for the courts under these exceptional circumstances to administer justice in a way considered fair by the majority of the populace. But the citizens of the region had similar problems coming to terms with the deeds of their fellow citizens. Was this the reason why so many kept quiet?
These days, we are often tempted to judge somebody else. In the social media, people are (anonymously) abused or bullied. But court sentences are always based on concrete evidence. What information do we need in order to be able to arrive at an opinion and judge someone or something?

 

Further reading (in German):

Christoph Brüll: Belgien im Nachkriegsdeutschland. Besatzung, Annäherung, Ausgleich (1944-1958). Essen 2009.

Christoph Brüll, Els Herrebout, Peter M. Quadflieg (Hg.): Eine ostbelgische „Stunde Null”? Eliten aus Eupen-Malmedy vor und nach 1944. Annalen des Symposiums im Staatsarchiv in Eupen am 15. September 2012. Brüssel 2013 (Belgisches Staatsarchiv, Quellen und Forschungen zur Geschichte der deutschsprachigen Belgier, Bd. 6).

Carlo Lejeune: Die Säuberung, Bd. 2: Hysterie, Wiedereingliederung, Assimilierung (1945-1952), Büllingen 2007.

Carlo Lejeune: Die Säuberung, Bd. 3: Verdrängte Erinnerung – 340 Zeitzeugen berichten. Büllingen 2008.

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene

Epuration (1945-1950)

Pendant la guerre, des gens ont été tués et des villages détruits. Même les voisins se sont battus entre eux pendant cette guerre - avec des mots, du harcèlement, des dénonciations et même des armes. Une injustice incroyable s'est produite. Probablement que tout le monde s'est senti blessé. Après l'annexion de la région en 1940, les habitants d’Eupen-Malmedy s’étaient battus pour la Wehrmacht allemande - également contre la Belgique, qui était à présent redevenue  leur patrie. Je vous le demande : Comment une telle société peut-elle trouver la paix avec elle-même et avec les autres après la guerre ? Comment peut-on expier le mal commis ? Est-il possible de faire régner la justice après de telles périodes arbitraires ? La partie germanophone de l’est de la Belgique est une société d’après-guerre parmi d’autres, avec son propre cheminement.  

En 1945, l'Eifel et les Ardennes sont dévastés, le Pays d'Eupen est dans un état de rigidité sociale. La transition entre le temps de guerre et le temps de paix à venir devait être organisée.

Zerstoerung

En Belgique, le désir de justice et de vengeance dominait les années d'après-guerre. Après quatre ans d'occupation, les collaborateurs doivent être traduits en justice et les espions et les traîtres jugés. Tout ce qui rappelle l'occupant détesté devrait être effacé. De nombreux Belges placent le national-socialisme, le nationalisme allemand, mais aussi la langue et la culture allemandes au même niveau. Les efforts bien intentionnés de dénazification et de punition des collaborateurs étaient ancrés dans la conscience collective sous les slogans « répression » et « épuration ». A partir d'août 1944, une véritable hystérie de purification s'installe en Belgique, dirigée principalement contre les collaborateurs. Ce fut également le cas en France, en Tchécoslovaquie, en Pologne et dans de nombreux autres pays européens.

Elle a également commencé en septembre 1944 dans l'Est de la Belgique, avec ses quelque 60 000 habitants, et ne s'est lentement éteinte que dans les années 1950. Pendant cette période, la résistance belge - l'Armée Blanche - ou les auditeurs militaires des anciens cantons d'Eupen et de Malmedy arrêtèrent au moins 6000 à 7000 citoyens dans des camps de détention ou des prisons. Pour les quelque 60 000 habitants des cantons d'Eupen et de Malmedy, 18 427 archives judiciaires ont été établies, 3 201 accusations déposées et 1 503 condamnations prononcées. C'était quatre fois la moyenne belge. Environ 10 000 citoyens - leurs proches sont inclus dans ce chiffre - ont été privés de la nationalité belge en 1946 et expulsés vers l'Allemagne. Après tout, « seulement » 461 citoyens ont été touchés par cette mesure de l'État belge, qui avait adopté une loi spéciale à cet effet.

Zimmermann

De nombreux Belges germanophones ont été privés de leurs droits civils, en tout ou en partie, pour une durée limitée ou illimitée. En 1946, par exemple, environ 50 % des hommes germanophones ont été exclus des élections ; les femmes n'ont obtenu le droit de vote qu'en 1948. En juin 1946, plus de 4 000 citoyens ont été exclus de la vie sociale en raison d’un certificat civique négatif. Dans les entreprises, les administrations, les associations, etc. la même procédure a été utilisée. D'innombrables dossiers ayant été détruits ou enlevés par l'armée blanche et les tribunaux militaires ne disposant pas des preuves nécessaires, le maire d'Eupen, Zimmermann, a appelé à une dénonciation générale.

Était-ce juste? Le gouvernement belge n'avait pas reconnu l'annexion d'Eupen-Malmedy en 1940 parce qu'elle était contraire au droit international. Cependant, elle a tacitement toléré, voire soutenu, la transition de la région vers l'Allemagne. Après 1945, une politique de rigueur sera poursuivie dans la région de langue allemande. Dans le contexte des tensions politiques internes sur la purification, un traitement spécial semblait difficilement envisageable. La population civile de l’actuelle Communauté Germanophone et les 8 800 soldats de la Wehrmacht de la région doivent donc être jugés selon les mêmes critères que les habitants de la Belgique occupée. Cependant, il était presque impossible de prendre en compte le rôle particulier des Cantons de l’Est.

Michel

D'une part, les autorités belges ont mis beaucoup de temps à comprendre la vie quotidienne des habitants d’Eupen-Malmedy sous le Troisième Reich ; d'autre part, les tribunaux militaires se sont plaints d'avoir reçu de nombreuses accusations contre d'éventuels collaborateurs, mais que la résistance belge avait détruit ou enlevé tellement de dossiers dans la région qu'il n'y avait guère de base légale pour une condamnation.

La majorité de la population a estimé que la purification était injuste. La justification presque unanime était que que les cantons de l’Est avaient été annexés et non occupés. Dans un premier temps, de nombreux jugements, parfois sévères, ont été rendus, dont la plupart ont été atténués ou annulés lors de la procédure d'appel.

La politique d'après-guerre développée à Bruxelles et au Commissariat d’arrondissement  de Malmedy pour les Cantons de l’Est était également perçue comme une injustice : les frontières avec l'Allemagne devaient être en grande partie fermées et les gens orientés vers l'intérieur de la Belgique. Un nationalisme belge exagéré devait se répandre et la langue française devait être appliquée dans les écoles et l'administration.

Pour l'Eifel belge, cependant, les années qui ont suivi la guerre furent importantes pour une autre raison. Pendant cette période, la reconstruction matérielle des localités détruites a eu lieu. Cela a duré jusqu'aux années 1960. Alors que les communes de l'intérieur de la Belgique ont été épargnées par la guerre, la partie orientale de la Belgique a été largement détruite. Dans cette situation, certaines communes de l'intérieur de la Belgique ont pris en charge le parrainage de certains villages de la région de langue allemande et ont allégé les plus grandes difficultés en donnant de la nourriture et du matériel.

Grenze

La purification est restée un sujet tabou dans la région jusqu'à la fin des années 1990. Sur le plan émotionnel, chacun avait vécu et traité le temps différemment. Ils se considéraient comme victimes de la guerre par l'annexion, par la conscription des soldats dans la Wehrmacht, ou comme victimes de l'offensive ardennaise et comme victimes de la purification. Ce n'est qu'après l'ouverture des archives que les premiers travaux sont apparus. Ceux-ci ont fait l'objet de recherches scientifiques. A ce jour, la question reste de savoir pourquoi la purification n'a pas réussi à établir la justice, mais a apparemment réussi à apporter la paix à la population.

Cet exemple montre que, dans cette situation exceptionnelle, il était extrêmement difficile pour les tribunaux de prononcer un verdict qui aurait pu satisfaire la majorité des gens. Les citoyens ont également éprouvé des difficultés à classer équitablement les actes de leurs concitoyens.
Aujourd'hui, nous avons tendance à juger rapidement les actes d’une autre personne. Sur les médias sociaux, les gens sont insultés (anonymement). Au tribunal, ces jugements sont toujours fondés sur des faits compréhensibles ou, à tout le moins, sur des preuves circonstancielles. De quelles informations avons-nous besoin dans la vie de tous les jours pour nous forger une opinion et nous permettre de juger ?

 

Conseils de lecture :

Christoph Brüll: Belgien im Nachkriegsdeutschland. Besatzung, Annäherung, Ausgleich (1944-1958). Essen 2009.

Christoph Brüll, Els Herrebout, Peter M. Quadflieg (Hg.): Eine ostbelgische „Stunde Null“? Eliten aus Eupen-Malmedy vor und nach 1944. Annalen des Symposiums im Staatsarchiv in Eupen am 15. September 2012. Brüssel 2013 (Belgisches Staatsarchiv, Quellen und Forschungen zur Geschichte der deutschsprachigen Belgier, Bd. 6).

Carlo Lejeune: Die Säuberung, Bd. 2: Hysterie, Wiedereingliederung, Assimilierung (1945-1952), Büllingen 2007.

Carlo Lejeune: Die Säuberung, Bd. 3: Verdrängte Erinnerung – 340 Zeitzeugen berichten. Büllingen 2008.

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene