Second World War (1940-1945)

Why should you be interested in the Nazi dictatorship in East Belgium during the Second World War? You live today in a democracy, in peace and possessing fundamental human rights from the day you’re born. But many democracies are being transformed into dictatorships on Europe’s doorstep. The history of the Second World War can show you how life gets changed in a dictatorship and that it’s worth fighting every dictatorship. Using the history of the Second World War in Eupen-Malmedy as an example, I will illustrate to you that you have absolutely no rights in a dictatorship and that democracy is the best recipe for living together in harmony, even if it is not perfect.

On 10 May 1940, the German army marched into Belgium, marking the start of the Second World War in the West. While Belgium harboured 1.5 million people refugees fleeing from the wrongdoings of the German Reich, numerous citizens in East Belgium between Kelmis in the north and Ouren in the south welcomed the troops with open arms, handing them small presents (cigarettes, chocolate) and offering them water, coffee or even a bite to eat.

Einmarsch

Why?

  • A large part of the population was opposed to being integrated in Belgium, the new fatherland. These citizens rejected the Treaty of Versailles, speaking openly of the region being returned to Germany.
  • The majority of them had maintained strong links with Germany over the past two decades.
  • While many of them upheld democratic principles, other sympathised with the German dictatorship.
  • The effects of the world economic crisis seemed to have been less severe in Germany than in Belgium, a fact highlighted by German propaganda.
  • In Eupen-Malmedy, a large number of pro-German organisations, financially and ideologically supported first by the Weimar Republic and after 1933 by the Nazis, were calling for the region to be returned to Germany.
  • Around one hundred men had established national-socialist “front” organisations openly campaigning for the Third Reich.

Did the majority of the population welcome the invasion of 10 May 1940? This question can no longer be answered. Personal accounts (“egodocuments”) reveal that reactions varied between “great enthusiasm, borderless despair and all intermediate nuances”, as stated in Martin Schärer’s study. Around one hundred citizens fled Eupen-Malmedy, heading for Belgium. But only a very small slice of the population had any idea of how the war was set to spread, igniting the whole world.

Strassenzug

On 18 May 1940, the cantons of Eupen, Malmedy and Sankt Vith, together with ten other neighbouring districts, were formally annexed under a decree of the Third Reich. This annexation contravened international law, as it occurred before the conclusion of a peace treaty. In September 1941, a German law definitively solved the citizenship question, with all inhabitants of the annexed districts becoming full-fledged citizens of the German Reich from this day on – with all associated rights and obligations. These included for example mandatory membership of certain Nazi organisations, such as the Hitler Youth for boys, or its counterpart for girls, the BDM, as well as conscription for young men. The citizens of Eupen-Malmedy now lived under circumstances completely different to the rest of occupied Belgium. The Belgian government in exile did not protest against the annexation, with the Belgian authorities tacitly accepting or even supporting the transfer to Germany.

The enthusiasm shown in the early days soon dissipated. Did the citizens of the cantons of Eupen, Malmedy and Sankt Vith have an idealised picture of their regained fatherland? Did national German convictions blind their eyes to the reality of the German dictatorship? Could the citizens of these rural areas offering just limited educational opportunities have better seen behind the Nazi propaganda? Perhaps better than their counterparts in the Saar, a similar border region between France and Germany where 90% of the populate voted for the Third Reich in the 1935 plebiscite?

It quickly became clear that the totalitarian state required the full commitment of its citizens. The Nazi party, administration and propaganda used a wide range of instruments to raise enthusiasm for the Third Reich. It was almost embarrassing to see how much effort the Nazi party and administration put into covering up anything that could be seen as a step backwards vis-à-vis the previous situation under Belgian rule, for instance the deterioration in the standard of living or the slower connection of telephone calls. By contrast, improvements were very much highlighted.

A major stir in the Catholic and conservative population was caused by the decision to remove crucifixes from schools in June and September 1940, but there were no public protests. Why not? In contrast to a democracy, a dictatorship forbids public demonstrations of discontent, attempting to control and steer the lives of all its subjects in all facets. Only a democracy allows its citizens freedom to act according to their conscience and to publicly fight for the rights of others. Similarly, in a dictatorship, people are denied the right to personal, self-defined development. A dictatorship protects its citizens against denunciation, oppression, surveillance, persecution or the integrity of life only as long as this serves its interests. Citizens have no opportunity to oppose the state with democratic means, meaning that the only form of opposition is resistance, whether individual or collective. Yet – as far as we know – there was no organised resistance in Eupen-Malmedy. A total of 62 citizens from the annexed region were killed in concentration camps for resisting the regime.

Arnolds

The German annexation policy in Eupen-Malmedy went through three phases: development - stagnation - outright war.

The first phase, lasting from May 1940 to autumn 1942, was characterised by a surprising amount of activity despite the war. Heavily subsidised by the Third Reich, a lot of development work took place in the regained region. However, the money was spent not so much on construction work but on developing national-socialist organisations, giving the populace the feeling of belonging to a major new Germanic community. Nobody was spared. Everyone had to do his or her bit to develop the system. This was supposed to give people a feeling of being useful and responsible for what was happening.

The second phase lasted from autumn 1942 until May 1944, and was characterised by deep disillusionment. Many national-socialist projects were stopped, including the building of the dam across the Weser valley near Eupen, where construction work had begun in 1936. More and more men were conscripted into the army, the list of those killed in action grew longer and longer, the German army was defeated in Stalingrad, the Gestapo and similar quasi-police units increased their surveillance, citizens were abducted to prisons and concentration camps – all this served to fundamentally change attitudes.

The third phase lasting until September 1944 was marked by outright war - the “totaler Krieg” as the Nazis called it. Everything was oriented towards the war: factories ceased producing non-military goods, women were increasingly forced to work in the factories and fields, and political surveillance reached its peak. 

By August 1944, 8,700 men from Eupen-Malmedy had been conscripted, of whom 3,300 were never to return home, listed as killed or missing in action.

In September 1944, the US army liberated the region, which up to then had only had to endure sporadic bombing by the Allies. In December, the Belgian Eifel and the Ardennes became a battleground. In a final effort to stop the advance of the Allies, Hitler ordered troops under the command of General von Rundstedt to attack. Known by the Allies as the Battle of the Bulge, the battle raged from 16 December 1944 to 25 January 1945. Several villages and the small town of Sankt Vith were completely destroyed, while others suffered heavy damage. Traumatising the civilian population, these events are indelibly stamped into the region’s communicative memory.

The Second World War plays a major role in the memory culture of German-speaking Belgians, leaving its stamp on their identity. Above all in the Belgian Eifel, the population initially saw themselves as victims and, in doing so, were able to “forget” all the unpleasant sides of the war. Since the 1980’s however, things have changed, with the population now able to actively look back at the war and the inter-war period. Taboos are disappearing, albeit with a certain delay in the region around Eupen.

After an initial “head-in-the-sand” period, the interest of historians in the war and its consequences was aroused in the mid-1960’s – though not in the region, as seen by the fact that historical associations in Sankt Vith, Eupen and Kelmis remained silent about everything apart from the Battle of the Bulge. It was left up to German and Swiss historians, including Klaus Pabst, Heinz Doepgen, Martin Schärer and Heidi Christmann, to delve into the period between 1920 and 1945, covering the region’s transfer to Belgium, the inter-war years and the Second World War. The local media gradually increased their focus on the period, with for instance the local newspaper, the Grenz-Echo, printing long reviews of books covering the period, and the Belgian Broadcasting Corporation broadcasting its first documentaries. Since the 1980’s, taboos governing this period have successively disappeared.

As you have seen, a dictatorship is characterised by injustice and arbitrariness. Human rights are suppressed. Many people suffer.
But what about today? What do you think about Turkey, a state that is gradually turning its back on democracy and depriving people of the chance to fight for their rights? What do you think of Poland or Hungary, where inalienable rights – such as the separation of the judiciary and the executive or freedom of the press – are being undermined? Yet these are all instruments protecting all citizens from the actions of a dictatorship. What do you think of developments in Belgium or other European countries, where human rights have been hollowed out over the last twenty years with a view to providing greater protection against terrorist attacks?
Do closed-circuit cameras really need to be installed in a small town like Eupen to fight crime, or wouldn’t it be better for each and every one of us to enjoy their freedom without state-sponsored snooping?

 

Further reading (in German):

Peter M. Quadflieg: „Zwangssoldaten” und „Ons Jongen”. Eupen-Malmedy und Luxemburg als Rekrutierungsgebiet der deutschen Wehrmacht im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Aachen 2008.

Martin Schärer: Deutsche Annexionspolitik im Westen. Die Wiedereingliederung Eupen-Malmedys im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Bern, Frankfurt am Main 1975.

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene

  • 1944

    Flucht

    Kriegsflucht von Ostbelgiern nach Deutschland und Belgien

Deuxième Guerre mondiale (1940-1945)

Pourquoi s'intéresser à la dictature nationale-socialiste en Communauté Germanophone pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ? Aujourd'hui, tu vis dans une démocratie, en paix et tu jouis de droits humains fondamentaux dès ta naissance. Dans toute l'Europe, cependant, de nombreuses démocraties se transforment en dictatures. L'histoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale te montre à quel point la vie dans une dictature se trouve bouleversée, et qu'il est important de lutter contre toute forme de dictature. J'utiliserai l'histoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale à Eupen-Malmedy pour te montrer que tu n'as plus aucun droit dans un régime injuste, et que la démocratie est la meilleure forme de coexistence, même si elle est humaine et donc imparfaite.

Le 10 mai, la Wehrmacht allemande envahit la Belgique. La Seconde Guerre mondiale a commencé en Occident. Alors qu'en Belgique 1,5 million de personnes étaient en fuite, de nombreux citoyens des Cantons de l’Est se tenaient sur le bord des routes et applaudissaient les soldats allemands. Ils offraient des petits cadeaux (cigarettes, chocolats) et revigoraient les soldats de la Wehrmacht avec de l'eau, du café ou un en-cas.

Einmarsch

Pourquoi ?

  • Une partie de la population ne pouvait ou ne voulait pas s'installer dans la nouvelle patrie belge. Ces citoyens ont rejeté le traité de Versailles et se sont ouvertement prononcés en faveur d'un retour à l'ancienne patrie allemande.
  • La grande majorité des citoyens sont nés et ont grandi en Allemagne. Le sentiment national allemand n'a pas pu disparaître en deux décennies.
  • Certains restaient fidèles aux convictions démocratiques fondamentales, d'autres sympathisaient avec la dictature allemande.
  • Les conséquences de la crise économique mondiale semblaient plus modérées en Allemagne qu'en Belgique, une situation dont profitaient les Nazis à des fins de propagande.
  • A Eupen-Malmedy, de nombreux clubs et entreprises allemands avaient annoncé leur retour en Allemagne. Celles-ci ont été soutenues financièrement et idéologiquement par la République de Weimar et, à partir de 1933, par les Nazis.
  • Une centaine d'hommes avaient fondé des organisations de camouflage nationaux-socialistes et promu ouvertement le Troisième Reich.

La majorité de la population a-t-elle applaudi le 10 mai 1940 ? On ne peut plus répondre à cette question aujourd'hui. Les journaux intimes et les lettres de l’époque montrent que les réactions se situaient entre « l'enthousiasme immense et le désarroi sans bornes - et toutes les nuances intermédiaires », comme l'a analysé l'historien suisse Martin Schärer en 1974. Près d'une centaine de citoyens d'Eupen-Malmedy se sont enfuis en Belgique. Probablement peu de gens pouvaient imaginer l'ampleur de la prochaine guerre mondiale.

Le 18 mai 1940, les cantons d'Eupen, Malmedy et Sankt Vith ainsi que dix anciennes communes belges furent annexés par décret du Troisième Reich. Cette annexion est contraire au droit international, puisqu'elle a eu lieu avant un accord de paix. En septembre 1941, une loi allemande régit définitivement la question de la citoyenneté. A partir de ce moment-là, les habitants des communautés annexées étaient considérés comme des citoyens du Troisième Reich, avec tous les droits et devoirs que cela comporte. Cela incluait, par exemple, l'adhésion obligatoire à certaines organisations nazies (comme la Jeunesse hitlérienne ou la Fédération des filles allemandes, entre autres) et la conscription dans les forces armées allemandes. Les citoyens d'Eupen-Malmedy vivaient donc dans des conditions fondamentalement différentes de celles des citoyens de la Belgique occupée. Le gouvernement belge en exil n'a pas protesté contre l'annexion. Cette annexion par l'Allemagne a été tacitement tolérée, voire soutenue par les autorités belges.

Strassenzug

L'enthousiasme initial a rapidement cédé la place à une grande désillusion. De nombreux citoyens des cantons d'Eupen, Malmedy et Sankt Vith ont-ils une image idéalisée de leur ancienne patrie allemande ? Les convictions nationales allemandes ont-elles caché la réalité de la dictature allemande ? Les habitants de cette région rurale et peu instruite auraient-ils pu davantage dénoncer la propagande nazie que, par exemple, les plus de 90 % de Sarrois qui ont voté pour le Troisième Reich lors d'un référendum en 1935 ?

Très vite, l'Etat totalitaire d'Hitler exigea le plein engagement des habitants d’Eupen-Malmedy. Le parti, l'administration et la propagande ont essayé avec les moyens les plus divers d’amener la population à s’enthousiasmer pour le Troisième Reich. Le parti et l'administration étaient presque gênés de dissimuler tout ce qui pouvait être considéré comme un recul par rapport à la Belgique : par exemple, la détérioration du niveau de vie ou le ralentissement de l'établissement des connexions téléphoniques. Les améliorations, en revanche, étaient fortement mises en évidence.

Mais en juin et septembre 1940, la dictature avait déjà choqué la population catholique-conservatrice en retirant les croix des écoles, ce qui avait provoqué de violentes réactions. Mais il n' y eut aucune manifestation publique. Pourquoi? Une dictature, contrairement à une démocratie, ne permet pas l'action publique libre. La dictature tente de contrôler et de diriger la vie de chacun dans son intégralité. Ce n'est que dans une démocratie que le citoyen peut agir librement et défendre ouvertement ses droits et ceux des autres. Il n'existe pas non plus de droit au libre développement de chaque être humain en public. Une dictature garantit la sécurité de ses citoyens contre la dénonciation, l'oppression, la surveillance, la persécution ou l'intégrité de la vie aussi longtemps qu'elle le souhaite. Dans les dictatures, les citoyens n'ont aucun moyen d'agir démocratiquement contre l'État. Seule la résistance active des individus ou des groupes subsiste. Il n'existe aucune preuve de résistance organisée à Eupen-Malmedy. Au total, 62 citoyens des cantons annexés ont été tués comme résistants ou dans des camps de concentration.

Arnolds

La politique d'annexion allemande à Eupen-Malmedy peut être divisée en trois parties : construction - stagnation - guerre totale.

Une première phase de mai 1940 à l'automne 1942 fut caractérisée par une activité étonnante malgré la guerre. Les importantes subventions du Reich permettent d’entamer d’importants « travaux de reconstruction » dans le « territoire retrouvé d’Eupen-Malmedy ». L'argent était davantage investi dans la création d'organisations nationales-socialistes que dans la construction de bâtiments. La population a ainsi eu le sentiment de faire partie d'une nouvelle et grande communauté nationale. Chaque personne avait été embrigadé dans le système, afin de donner aux gens un sentiment d'utilité et de responsabilité partagée.

La deuxième phase a duré de l'automne 1942 à mai 1944 et fut marquée par une profonde désillusion. De nombreux projets nationaux-socialistes sont au point mort, comme l'extension du barrage d'Eupen, dont la construction avait commencé en 1936. L'augmentation de la conscription des hommes dans la Wehrmacht, l'augmentation du nombre de soldats tombés au combat, la défaite allemande à Stalingrad, la surveillance croissante de la Gestapo et du SD, la déportation des concitoyens dans les prisons et les camps de concentration, tout cela a fondamentalement changé l'état d'esprit.

La troisième phase, de mai 1944 à septembre 1944, fut marquée par des mesures de guerre totale : déploiement complet pour l'industrie de la guerre, augmentation de la conscription, embrigadement accru des femmes, intensification de la surveillance politique.

En août 1944, 8 700 hommes avaient été recrutés à Eupen-Malmedy. Environ 3 300 d'entre eux ont été tués ou furent portés disparus.

En septembre 1944, l'armée américaine libéra la région où seules quelques bombes alliées ont été larguées. En décembre, l'Eifel belge, l'Ösling et les Ardennes devinrent des théâtres de guerre pour l'offensive ardennaise, aussi appelée Rundstedt-Offensive ou Bataille des Ardennes. Certains villages ainsi que la petite ville de Sankt Vith ont été complètement détruits, les endroits restants ont été fortement endommagés. Ces expériences traumatisantes de la population civile se sont gravées dans la mémoire communicative de la région.

La Seconde Guerre mondiale a joué un rôle majeur dans la culture du souvenir des Belges germanophones et a fortement influencé l'identité des Belges germanophones. C'est surtout dans l'Eifel belge qu'un souvenir des victimes s'est fait jour, qui a tout d'abord étouffé et dissimulé tout ce qui était désagréable. Mais depuis les années 1980, elle a aussi permis de garder un souvenir actif de la guerre et de l'entre-deux-guerres avec toutes les tensions qu'elles ont engendrées. L'élimination des tabous de l'histoire a commencé à se faire sentir. Dans le Pays d'Eupen, ce processus a eu lieu beaucoup plus tard.

Après une première phase de silence, l'historiographie s'est intéressée à cette période au milieu des années 1960 - mais pas dans la région. Les jeunes clubs d'histoire de Sankt Vith, Eupen et la Calamine ont gardé cette période secrète dès le début, à l'exception de l'offensive ardennaise. Ce sont des historiens allemands ou suisses comme Klaus Pabst, Heinz Doepgen, Martin Schärer et Heidi Christmann qui ont traité du changement de patrie en 1920, de l'entre-deux-guerres et des périodes de guerre. De plus, les médias de la région se sont peu à peu intéressés au sujet : de longues critiques de livres sont parues dans le Grenz-Echo. Les Emissions en langue Allemande ont diffusé les premiers documentaires. Depuis les années 1980, les tabous concernant cette période ont été progressivement levés.

Comme tu as pu le voir, l'essence même d'une dictature est l'injustice et l'arbitraire. Les droits de l'homme sont bafoués. Beaucoup en souffrent.
Et aujourd'hui ? Qu'en pensez-vous lorsqu'en Turquie, l'État se reconstruit progressivement et que les gens sont privés de la possibilité de faire valoir leurs droits ? Que pensez-vous de l'évolution de la situation en Pologne ou en Hongrie, où des droits inaliénables, tels que la séparation des tribunaux et du gouvernement ou la liberté de la presse, sont restreints ? Ces instruments devraient servir à protéger chaque citoyen contre un État injuste. Comment évaluez-vous l'évolution en Belgique ou dans d'autres pays européens, où les droits de l'homme ont également été restreints au cours des deux dernières décennies afin d'accroître la sécurité supposée contre les attaques terroristes ?

Faut-il vraiment accrocher des caméras dans une petite ville comme Eupen pour combattre le crime présumé ?

 

Conseils de lecture :

Peter M. Quadflieg: „Zwangssoldaten“ und „Ons Jongen“. Eupen-Malmedy und Luxemburg als Rekrutierungsgebiet der deutschen Wehrmacht im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Aachen 2008.

Martin Schärer: Deutsche Annexionspolitik im Westen. Die Wiedereingliederung Eupen-Malmedys im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Bern, Frankfurt am Main 1975.

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene

  • 1944

    Flucht

    Kriegsflucht von Ostbelgiern nach Deutschland und Belgien