Becoming Belgian (1918-1925)

Would you be prepared to swap nationalities, to become a citizen of another country? What if you were forced to do so? What rules should a state use to take in new citizens? In my mind, such questions are very valid at a time when so many people are searching for a new country to call their home. A look back at the history of East Belgium shows how and under which rules the population of Eupen and Malmedy became inhabitants of Belgium and why it was so difficult for them to call Belgium their home.

In the weeks following the signing of the armistice on 11 November 1918, the remains of the Germany army trudged back to Germany – as losers. We have no reports of how the population of Eupen and Malmedy experienced this defeat. Following in the footsteps of the defeated German army, British, French and later Belgian troops occupied Eupen and Malmedy and large swathes of the Rhineland.

Since the middle of the war, nationalists in both Germany and Belgium had been clamouring for extensive annexations in the event of victory. In early 1919, Pierre Nothomb founded the Comité de Politique nationale (CPN), a body demanding that certain regions be ceded to Belgium: the Scheldt estuary and the province of Limburg from the Netherlands, the whole Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg and part of the Rhineland, giving Belgium access to the Rhine near Duisburg. These demands were clearly formulated in his book “La barrière belge”, published in 1916. His claims to the counties of Eupen, Malmedy, Schleiden, Monschau and Bitburg were argued from a historical perspective: as these regions had belonged to the Austrian Netherlands and as Belgium (founded in 1830) was the legal successor of this state, they had always been Belgian. The wrongdoing of the past decades now had to be put right.

Sitz

But two competing views dominated the peace treaty negotiations: nationalistic politicians in Europe called for a peace treaty burdening the losing side with far-reaching annexations and high reparation payments, while US President Woodrow Wilson pleaded for the principle of self-determination, with each people having the right to decide their own destiny. In doing so, Wilson took account of the increasingly democratic tendencies in many European countries. Self-determination was seen as the solution for the problem of minorities in the Austro-Hungarian Empire which fell apart in October 1918.

On 18 January 1919, the victorious Allies started negotiating a possible peace treaty in Versailles. Belgium was unable to push through its wide-ranging annexation claims, and the Treaty of Versailles, signed on 29 June 1919, only ceded Eupen and Malmedy to Belgium.

  • For both Belgium and France, this region held great strategic importance, acting as a buffer against Germany and any new invasion attempt. The first hilly area between Belgium and the Rhine, the region could be considered as an advance defence of the Liege fortification ring.
  • The region was rich in water and forests, with the latter expected to provide long-term revenues. The water was a valuable raw material for the textile industry in Verviers.

 

While a number of the territorial cessions came into effect immediately, others were subject to a free and secret referendum (every man and woman had a vote) organised and supervised by a neutral power.

The form used in the region of Eupen and Malmedy was unique, with a plebiscite (the so-called consultation populaire) being conducted. This contradicted the principles of law.

  • Public lists were posted in the county towns of Eupen and Malmedy, in which residents wanting to remain citizens of Germany were supposed to write their names.
  • This plebiscite was organised by Belgium, a country with an impossible “neutral” status, as it would be the main beneficiary.
  • Anyone wanting to protest against this procedure had to justify their protest in front of the officials.
  • As the lists were only posted in the county towns, this meant that many citizens had to spend the whole day travelling to get there and back.
  • If too many people gathered to write their names, access to the lists was denied.
  • The first protesters were immediately punished, inter alia through being expelled from the region, having their ration cards withdrawn or prevented from changing money.

These examples serve to show that the plebiscite was organised in a way making it very probable that the counties would be ceded to Belgium. Even in Brussels, the whole process was labelled as the “petite farce belge”, while it was considered a major injustice in Eupen, Malmedy, Sankt Vith and Germany. By 23 July 1920, 271 protesters had added their names to the lists. The Treaty of Versailles came into effect on 10 January 1920, and the League of Nations ratified the two counties’ “change of fatherland” on 20 December 1920.

Baltia

Did this vote reflect the will of the people? Let’s start with a retrospective: Compulsory schooling had been introduced in Prussia in 1825. One hundred years later, nearly everybody could read and write. Since the end of the 19th century, more and more people – and not just in the towns – had a newspaper subscription and were thus able to follow national politics. Moreover, many clubs and associations were being founded, each with its own executive board and statutes. These lowest-level proto-democratic institutions reinforced people’s demands for greater participation in society and politics. Council and national elections led to the development of pre-democratic processes. In 1920, the majority of Eupen and Malmedy inhabitants expected to be able to participate in deciding their fate, very much in contrast to what had happened in 1815.

Existing historical works show that both Belgium and Germany invested heavily - financially and with propaganda – in the plebiscite. Sections of the population in favour of the region becoming part of Belgium were few and far between. The only known document in favour of such was a petition drafted by Malmedy industrialists. But there were many indications of pro-German sentiments:

  • Within just a short space of time, more than 8,330 citizens added their names to a protest list under the motto “We are Germans and want to remain Germans” before the German authorities stepped in to stop the protest.
  • A workers’ uprising in Eupen was triggered by fear of the negative effects of becoming part of Belgium.
  • Many reports refer to an insecure, passive population, placing their hopes in the continuing existence of the old borders.
  • Over the next two decades, the majority of the population described the plebiscite as illegal.

On 10 January 1920, the counties of Eupen and Malmedy came under the command of General Hermann Baron Baltia, a Royal High Commissioner.  Responsible solely to the Prime Minister, he had both legislative and executive powers. Invested with these quasi-dictatorial powers, he was able to completely quash press freedom until the newly-formed administrative districts, the East Cantons Eupen, Malmedy and Sankt Vith, were fully integrated into Belgium. In retrospect, his policies are seen by researchers as being moderate and appeasing towards the new Belgians, even if his transition regime was not based on rule-of-law principles.

Gendarmen

This plebiscite so dominated the communicative memory in the years to come that virtually no memories of the First World War were passed on. The citizens of Eupen-Malmedy considered the plebiscite to be unjust and undemocratic, and it became the starting point for innumerable political and societal tensions dominating the coming decades. This is obviously the reason why this period has been the subject of a great deal of research by historians.

In Scotland, Catalonia and Flanders, similar influential political groupings pushing for independence exist. They go about this by annulling the rules previously governing how people lived together and wanting to shift borders or create new ones. Is there any sense in such actions today? A referendum conducted in a fair manner will always yield a result, but there will always be people who voted against the result. How can their rights be respected? How can a state react to such exceptional issues? What do you think?

 

Further reading (in German):

Christoph Brüll (Hg.): Zoom 1920-2010. Nachbarschaften neun Jahrzehnte nach Versailles. Eupen 2012.

Heinz Doepgen: Die Abtretung des Gebietes von Eupen-Malmedy an Belgien im Jahr 1920. Bonn 1966 (Rheinisches Archiv; Bd. 60).

Klaus Pabst: Eupen-Malmedy in der belgischen Regierungs- und Parteienpolitik (1914-1940). Aachen 1965 (Zeitschrift des Aachener Geschichtsvereins; Bd. 76).

  • 1925

    Heimatbund

  • 1922

    Folklore Eupen-Malmedy-Sankt Vith

    In Malmedy wird ein Verein für Volkskunde, Folklore Eupen-Malmedy-Sankt Vith gegründet

  • 1921

    Bistum Eupen-Malmedy

  • 1920

    Progymnasium (Athenäum) in Malmedy

  • Belgisches Schulwesen

Gouvernement Baltia (1918-1925)

Vous souhaitez renoncer à votre nationalité et devenir citoyen d'un autre pays ? Cela pourrait-il se faire sous la contrainte ? En fonction de quelles règles un État doit-il accepter ou non de nouveaux citoyens ? Ces questions me semblent d'actualité, à une époque où de nombreuses personnes sont à la recherche d’une nouvelle patrie. Un regard sur l'histoire de la région de langue allemande de Belgique montre comment et selon quelles règles les habitants des Cantons de l’Est sont devenus membres de l'Etat belge et pourquoi il leur était si difficile de s'y sentir chez eu.

Le 11 novembre 1918 - après l'armistice - l'armée allemande vaincue est retournée dans le Reich en passant par les districts allemands d'Eupen et de Malmedy. Il est difficile de savoir comment les habitants d’Eupen-Malmedy ont vécu cet événement. L'armée allemande vaincue fut suivie par les troupes britanniques, françaises et belges qui occupèrent les districts d'Eupen et de Malmedy et une grande partie de la Rhénanie.

Depuis le milieu de la guerre, les voix des nationalistes s'étaient fait entendre en Allemagne et en Belgique, réclamant de larges annexions en cas de victoire. Au début de l'année 1919, Pierre Nothomb fonde le Comité de Politique nationale (CPN), qui cherche à transférer des territoires à la Belgique : l'estuaire de l'Escaut et la province du Limbourg aux dépens des Pays-Bas, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et une partie de la Rhénanie, avec un accès au Rhin près de Duisburg. Déjà en 1916, Nothomb avait esquissé l'étendue de cette annexion dans son livre « La barrière belge ». Il justifie la revendication des districts d'Eupen, Malmedy, Schleiden, Monschau et Bitburg car « ces territoires appartenaient aux Pays-Bas autrichiens et que le jeune Etat belge fondé en 1830 avait pris en charge la succession juridique de cet Etat. Ces territoires ont, dès lors, toujours été belges. Cette erreur devait être corrigée ».

Sitz

Mais dans les discussions sur un éventuel traité de paix, deux points de vue s'opposaient : avant tout, les politiciens nationalistes en Europe voulaient une paix qui imposerait au perdant des annexions importantes et des réparations élevées. D'autre part, le Président américain Woodrow Wilson avait introduit dans les discussions le principe du droit des peuples à l'autodétermination. Chaque peuple doit donc pouvoir être maître de son propre destin. Wilson a ainsi pris en compte la démocratisation de nombreuses sociétés européennes. L'objectif principal était de résoudre les problèmes de minorités dans la monarchie austro-hongroise, qui s'était désintégrée en octobre 1918.

A partir du 18 janvier 1919, les puissances victorieuses se réunissent à Versailles et discutent d'un éventuel traité de paix. La Belgique n'a pas été en mesure de faire respecter ses nombreux souhaits d'annexion. Le Traité de Versailles, signé le 28 juin 1919, ne devait finalement inclure que les districts d'Eupen et de Malmedy :

  • Pour la Belgique comme pour la France, cette région était d'une importance stratégique pour éviter une nouvelle attaque de l'Allemagne. D'une certaine manière, la région était considérée comme le premier rempart de la position fortifiée de Liège, et était la première chaîne de basses montagnes entre le Rhin et les régions occidentales.
  • La région était riche en forêts et en eau. La richesse des forêts devrait générer des revenus à long terme. L'eau était considérée comme une matière première importante pour l'industrie textile à Verviers.

Certaines cessions du Reich allemand sont immédiatement entrées en vigueur. Dans d'autres régions, un référendum libre, secret, égal (chaque homme et chaque femme avaient une voix) et neutre fut organisé.

A Eupen et Malmedy, le modus operandi était unique. Une consultation populaire fut organisée. Celle-ci contredit les règles constitutionnelles :

  • A Eupen et Malmedy, il existait des listes ouvertes sur lesquelles les citoyens qui souhaitaient que la région autour d’Eupen et Malmedy reste en Allemagne devaient s’inscrire nominativement.
  • Cette consultation populaire a été organisée par la Belgique. En tant que bénéficiaire potentielle, elle ne pouvait pas être neutre.
  • Les manifestants devaient se justifier devant les autorités.
  • Les listes n'étaient disponibles qu'à Eupen et Malmedy. Pour de nombreux citoyens, le voyage aller-retour durait une journée.
  • L'accès était interdit en cas d’urgence.
  • Les premiers manifestants ont été immédiatement punis : ils ont été expulsés. Les cartes de rationnement ont été retirées, on leur a interdit d'échanger de l'argent, etc.

Tous ces exemples montrent à quel point cette consultation populaire a été manipulée pour inciter les districts à rejoindre la Belgique. C'est la raison pour laquelle cette consultation populaire a été qualifiée de « petite farce belge » dans les milieux politiques bruxellois. Cette même consultation populaire a été vécue comme une véritable injustice à Eupen, Malmedy, Sankt Vith et en Allemagne. Au 23 juillet 1920, 271 manifestants s'étaient inscrits sur les listes. Le Traité de Versailles était entré en vigueur le 10 janvier 1920, et la Société des Nations avait finalement accepté le changement de pays des deux districts le 20 décembre 1920.

Baltia

Ce vote correspondait-il vraiment à la volonté de la population ? Tout d'abord, un bilan : En 1825, la Prusse avait rendu la scolarité obligatoire. Cent ans plus tard, (presque) tout le monde savait lire et écrire. A partir de la fin du XIXe siècle, de plus en plus de ménages s'étaient abonnés à un journal et pouvaient ainsi participer à la vie politique suprarégionale, même dans les zones rurales. Au cours de ce siècle, de nombreuses associations et groupes d'intérêt dotés d'un comité exécutif et de statuts se sont également développés. En tant qu'institutions protodémocratiques au plus bas niveau, elles ont renforcé la demande de participation à la société et à la politique. Grâce aux élections municipales et aux élections au Reichstag, des procédures proto-démocratiques se sont développées. En 1920, la majorité des habitants d’Eupen-Malmedy s'attendaient à pouvoir décider de leur sort - contrairement à 1815.

Jusqu' à présent, des études historiques montrent que la Belgique et l'Allemagne ont toutes deux tenté d’exercer une influence sur la consultation populaire grâce à leurs engagements financiers et leur propagande. Il existe peu de preuves de groupes de population qui auraient été en faveur de l'annexion de la Belgique. Une seule pétition d’industriels de Malmedy peut être citée. D'un autre côté, plusieurs signes indiquent une ambiance pro-allemande:

  • En peu de temps, plus de 8 330 citoyens s’étaient inscrits sur une liste de protestation, avec pour slogan « Nous sommes Allemands et voulons rester Allemands », avant que les autorités allemandes ne la suppriment.
  • A Eupen, un soulèvement ouvrier a été déclenché par crainte des conséquences négatives de l'annexion à la Belgique.
  • De nombreux rapports font état d'une population insécurisée et passive qui dépendait de la survie des anciennes frontières.
  • Dans les deux décennies qui ont suivi, l'écrasante majorité de la population a qualifié le référendum d'injustice.

Le 10 janvier 1920, les districts d'Eupen et de Malmedy sont placés sous un régime spécial, sous la houlette du général Hermann Baron Baltia. Il était sous l'autorité exclusive du Premier Ministre et disposait des pouvoirs législatif et exécutif. Grâce à ces pouvoirs presque dictatoriaux, il a pu éliminer la liberté de la presse jusqu'à ce que les unités administratives, les cantons d'Eupen, de Malmedy et de Sankt Vith, soient finalement constituées. Rétrospectivement, les chercheurs considèrent que sa politique était modérée et bienveillante à l'égard des nouveaux Belges, même si son régime transitoire n'était pas fondé sur l'État de droit.

Gendarmen

Cette consultation populaire prit une telle ampleur dans la mémoire collective que presqu’aucun souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale ne fut transmis. Les citoyens d'Eupen-Malmedy ont qualifié ce référendum d’injuste et d’antidémocratique. Cette consultation populaire est devenue le point de départ d'innombrables tensions politiques et sociales qui ont eu une influence sur les décennies suivantes. C'est probablement la raison pour laquelle cette période a fait l'objet d’innombrables recherches de la part des historiens.

En Écosse, en Catalogne et en Flandre, il existe des groupes de réflexion influents qui luttent pour leur indépendance. Ils abandonnent l’ancien contrat social dans leur pays, et veulent déplacer les frontières ou en créer de nouvelles. Est-ce que cela a toujours un sens aujourd'hui ? Si un référendum équitable est couronné de succès, comment les droits de ceux qui s'y opposent peuvent-ils être respectés ? Comment l'État de droit peut-il répondre à ces questions exceptionnelles ? Qu'en penses-tu ?

 

Conseils de lecture :

Christoph Brüll (Hg.): Zoom 1920-2010. Nachbarschaften neun Jahrzehnte nach Versailles. Eupen 2012.

Heinz Doepgen: Die Abtretung des Gebietes von Eupen-Malmedy an Belgien im Jahr 1920. Bonn 1966 (Rheinisches Archiv; Bd. 60).

Klaus Pabst: Eupen-Malmedy in der belgischen Regierungs- und Parteienpolitik (1914-1940). Aachen 1965 (Zeitschrift des Aachener Geschichtsvereins; Bd. 76).

  • 1925

    Heimatbund

  • 1922

    Folklore Eupen-Malmedy-Sankt Vith

    In Malmedy wird ein Verein für Volkskunde, Folklore Eupen-Malmedy-Sankt Vith gegründet

  • 1921

    Bistum Eupen-Malmedy

  • 1920

    Progymnasium (Athenäum) in Malmedy

  • Belgisches Schulwesen