French period (1795-1815)

The French Revolution laid the foundations for our modern democracies, setting down on paper our inalienable human rights. When you have to appear in court, you have the same rights as every other citizen. You are protected against arbitrary action by the state. You can express your opinion freely. All these achievements and many others stem from the French Revolution, and it is well worthwhile taking a look at this epoch. Using the history of East Belgium as a basis, I would like to show you why the French Revolution laid the foundations for a Europe governed by rule of law and why you should fight to uphold these rights.

The French Revolution began in 1789. In 1795, what is now Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany to the west of the Rhine were annexed by France. The revolutionaries changed everyday life and the whole political set-up, introducing a new constitution, new laws and administrative reforms. The Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen of 26 August 1789 accorded people natural and inalienable rights from birth. These included equality before the law, protection of property, the presumption of innocence, protection against excessive punishments, and the separation of powers between the legislative (Parliament), the executive (government) and the judiciary (the courts). The introduction of the French Code Civil was an important step, as it meant that a judge could no longer arbitrarily set a punishment, but had to comply with the provisions of the Code Civil.

Copyright:

Nothing like this had existed before the French Revolution: rights were often only conferred on nobles and the clergy on the basis of agreements that had to be re-confirmed by each new ruler. Many people were not free, but subject to feudalism. People were not equal, but had much-differing rights dependent on their status. People were not treated equally before the courts but often according to the whims of judges.

How one viewed these revolutionary innovations was greatly dependent on one’s social status. Generally speaking, the clergy and aristocracy lost their prosperity and power, while ordinary citizens moved up the ladder, with the bourgeoisie in the larger towns benefiting most. Out in the country, it was mostly tradesmen, doctors, lawyers and civil servants who could look forward to much brighter prospects. Though labourers, farmers and craftsmen similarly enjoyed new rights, these sections of the population – most of them poor and illiterate – would only benefit from the innovations in the medium term. In their everyday lives, they did not get the feeling that the Revolution had made them better off.

What did this mean for what is now East Belgium between 1795 and 1815?

For the first time since the Middle Ages, the northern part, the region around Eupen, and the southern part, what is now the Belgian Eifel, were administered by the same authority: the Département de l’Ourthe.

Zeichen

The consequences of the Revolution were to be seen at a relatively early stage. Up to 1795, the nearby town of Spa, the town that lent its name to the English word “spa”, developed into a centre for people fleeing from the French Revolution. Nobles from the whole of France came there, staying for a few weeks before moving on further west. Many Eupen clothmakers also initially fled westwards, only to return to Eupen some time later.

This alone shows that the previous beneficiaries of the Ancien Régime, the aristocracy and clergy, were the losers of the Revolution, with the majority of them rejecting the political reforms. But the overwhelming majority of the peasants in what is now East Belgium also initially saw no great advantages in the many innovations, even if they had had to bear the brunt of the old feudal system. As citizens of the 21st century, we might find this strange, knowing that the French Revolution laid the foundations for our modern democracies.

Taking a look at the economic development in Kelmis, Eupen and the Eifel, it quickly becomes clear that for most people material interests were more important than the ideas behind the French Revolution.

In Kelmis, zinc ore mining was flourishing, the heyday of Raeren stoneware had finally come to an end, and the Eupen clothmakers were having to look for new markets. The young apprenticed tailor Johann Caspar Scheen from Eupen described the arrival of the French in his diary: “As soon as the French put foot on our Limburg territory, the clothmaking factory started losing business. And the factory represents the livelihood of our Fatherland, and when it ceases to flourish, all traders also suffer (...).” 

Scheen expressed clear concerns about his future and that of the whole region. A few years later he was to write: “After going through several bad years, we also went through a series of good ones, with the factories and traders doing very well in 1795, 1796 and 1797, with the master craftsmen paying 6 - 7 marks to have their wool spun, and everything was fairly inexpensive and offered at a civil price.”

From a business perspective, the Eupen cloth-making factories experienced their heyday in the period up to 1815, with textile workers, spinners and cutters receiving good wages and the cloth manufacturers doing very good business. However, the young apprentice’s diary also shows us that the innovations initiated by the French Revolution – innovations which we see as game changers – played no role for him. His priority was to earn a decent wage and enjoy a modicum of prosperity.

The economic situation was completely different in the southern part of what is now East Belgium. In this rural area, people mainly earned their living working in agriculture, the leather industry or trade between the Rhineland and the Ardennes. They basically experienced no economic upturn, and maybe this was one of the reasons why many reforms were opposed by the conservative Catholic population.

In 1798, the Klöppelkrieg – the Peasants’ War – broke out, with predominantly young farmers (subject to military conscription) rising up against the French occupiers. In what is now Luxembourg, the German Eifel, but also in Sankt Vith, Büllingen, Amel, Bütgenbach and Burg-Reuland, the peasants armed themselves with the simplest weapons, but had no chance against the French army units, who put down the revolt within just a few weeks.

The French occupiers generally remained unpopular. Louis François Thomassin, a Liege tax official working in the French administration, was to write the following about the Eifel-Ardennes region in his 1808 and 1813 reports entitled “Mémoire statistique du Département de l’Ourthe”: “The inhabitants of this canton have given up any hope of ever being able to improve their agriculture. They are convinced that all attempts undertaken up to now have negatively impacted the peasants, forcing them to revert to their customary practices.”

I ask myself what these peasants had in mind. If, as Thomassin reports, they were unable to even consider being able to improve their economic situation, were they in any position at all to predict the consequences of the political innovations? Moreover, were these peasants even affected by the Revolution, and if so, how?

Looking through older historical works dating back to the 19th century, one notes that many authors partially or totally rejected the French Revolution on ideological grounds, highlighting the population’s opposition, while at the same time idealising their mourning for the old regime in the Austrian Netherlands. The best example is the Peasants’ War, whose participants were stylised by the church in particular as heroes. The reason: they had fought against modernity. Yet most of them had fought against being conscripted into the French army or against excessive taxation.

Ein

In particular after the Second World War, this phase of East Belgian history was highlighted by historical associations, as it was seen as politically neutral. The works of Alfred Minke (see the reading list below) were the first to paint a differentiated picture of the consequences of the French Revolution in East Belgium.

Not caring much about politics is a prevalent characteristic of current times. But let me ask you the following: Are people just dissatisfied with the work of politicians, or even with our democracy? Do you see politicians still fighting for human rights and democracy? Do you see how politicians seek to find the best solutions for enabling people to live together in peace and security? Do you see populist parties also upholding human rights, citing the ideals of the French Revolution? What consequences would their policies have for our democracy.

 

Further reading (all in German):

Carlo Lejeune (Publ.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens (a history of Belgium’s German-speaking Community). Code Civil, beschleunigte Moderne, Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2016.

Carlo Lejeune (Publ.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kadaster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

 

Sources:

The quote of the apprenticed tailor Johann Caspar Scheen is taken from:

Alfred Minke: Die Französische Revolution aus der Sicht des Johann Caspar Scheen, Schneiderlehrling aus Eupen, in: Geschichtliches Eupen 24 (1990), p. 19-48

The quote of tax official Louis François Thomassin is taken from:

Josef Dries: Landwirtschaft auf dem Weg zur Monokultur. Klima, Märkte und Strukturen als beständige Herausforderungen, in Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code civil, beschleunigte Moderne und Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2017, p. 142-163.

  • 1809

    Sekundarschule Eupen

  • 1803

    Pfarraufteilung

  • 1795

    Gemeindeunterricht

    Beginn des Gemeindeunterrichts unter staatlicher Aufsicht.

  • 1794

    Priesterverfolgung

    Beginn der Priesterverfolgung

Période française (1795-1815)

La Révolution française a jeté les bases de nos démocraties modernes. Tu as hérité de droits de l’homme inaliénables. Devant un tribunal, tu bénéficies des mêmes droits que n'importe quel autre citoyen. Tu es protégé contre l'ingérence arbitraire de l'État. Tu es libre d'exprimer ton opinion. Toutes ces avancées (et bien d'autres encore) sont un héritage de la Révolution française. Se pencher sur cette partie de l'Histoire semble, par conséquent, tout naturel. L'histoire de la Communauté Germanophone permet d’illustrer comment la Révolution française a jeté les bases de la sécurité juridique en Europe et de comprendre pourquoi tu dois tenter de préserver ces droits.

La Révolution française éclata en 1789. En 1795, la France annexa la Belgique actuelle, le Luxembourg ainsi que la rive gauche du Rhin. La cohabitation politique et la vie quotidienne des citoyens s’en trouvèrent profondément bouleversés : les révolutionnaires introduisirent une nouvelle constitution, une nouvelle législation ainsi que des réformes administratives. La Déclaration des droits de l'homme et des citoyens du 26 août 1789 conféra à l'homme, dès sa naissance, des droits naturels et inaliénables : égalité devant la loi, protection des biens, présomption d'innocence, protection contre les peines sévères, partage des pouvoirs législatif (parlement), exécutif (gouvernement) et judiciaire (tribunaux). Le « Code civil » fut introduit ; une avancée capitale car, dès son introduction, les juges ne pouvaient plus décider arbitrairement du montant des pénalités, mais devaient se conformer aux exigences du Code civil.

Copyright:

Copyright: Klaus-Dieter Klauser

Rien de tout cela n’existait avant la Révolution française : seuls la noblesse et le clergé bénéficiaient de droits (souvent grâce à des traités), et ces droits devaient être confirmés par chaque nouveau souverain. Le peuple n’était pas libre mais, au contraire, subordonné à la seigneurie. Les gens n'étaient pas égaux : leurs droits dépendaient de leur statut. Les tribunaux ne traitaient pas tout le monde sur un même pied d'égalité ; souvent, le juge pouvait décider de la sentence.

Ces innovations issues de la révolution étaient perçues de manière différente, selon le statut social des personnes concernées. De manière générale, le clergé et la noblesse perdirent richesse et pouvoir au profit des citoyens. Ce sont les classes moyennes urbaines et progressistes qui en ont le plus tiré profit. Dans les zones rurales, les commerçants, les médecins, les avocats et les fonctionnaires administratifs ont désormais de bien meilleures perspectives d'avenir. Les journaliers, les agriculteurs et les artisans se sont vu accorder de nouveaux droits, mais à moyen terme, ces personnes, pauvres et analphabètes, n'ont pu bénéficier de ces innovations qu'après une longue période. Dans leur quotidien, ils n'avaient pas le sentiment de tirer profit de cette révolution.

Mais quel impact la Révolution française a-t-elle eu sur la région de langue allemande de Belgique, entre 1795 et 1815 ?

Pour la première fois depuis le Moyen-Âge, le Pays eupenois (au Nord) et l'actuelle Eifel belge (au Sud) dépendaient d’une seule unité administrative : le Département de l'Ourthe.

Zeichen

Staatsarchiv Eupen

Les conséquences de la révolution se font sentir très tôt : jusqu'en 1795, Spa, l'une des stations thermales les plus importantes d'Europe, s’est muée en centre pour les réfugiés révolutionnaires français. Des nobles venus de toute la France traversèrent la ville, y restèrent quelques semaines et s'installèrent plus à l'ouest. De nombreux fabricants de tissus eupenois se sont également enfuis vers l'ouest, pour finalement revenir à Eupen un peu plus tard.

La noblesse et le clergé, qui avaient profité des largesses de l’Ancien Régime, ont beaucoup perdu avec la révolution. D’ailleurs, ils ont rejeté la majorité des réformes politiques. Mais la grande majorité de la population rurale située dans l’actuelle région de langue allemande de Belgique, elle non plus, ne percevait pas les avantages des nombreuses innovations, alors qu’elle avait été victime de l'ancien système féodal. En tant que citoyens du XXIe siècle, cela peut nous paraître étrange car nous considérons la Révolution française comme le fondement de nos démocraties modernes.

Vu le développement économique de la Calamine, d’Eupen et de l'actuelle Eifel belge, il est évident que pour beaucoup de gens, les intérêts matériels primaient sur les idées de la Révolution française.

L'exploitation minière de zinc prospéra à la Calamine, la grande époque du grès de Raeren prit fin, et les fabricants de tissus eupenois durent chercher de nouveaux débouchés à cause des nouvelles frontières.  Le jeune apprenti tailleur Johann Caspar Scheen d'Eupen écrivit à propos de l'entrée des Français dans son journal intime : « Dès que les Français sont entrés dans notre contrée limbourgeoise, la « Wullenfabrick » (Tisserie N.d.T.) a entamé son déclin, alors que cette entreprise représente la seule source de revenus de notre région [...]. »

Scheen exprima des craintes claires concernant l'avenir. Quelques années plus tard, il nota : "Après avoir mangé notre pain noir, nous avons vécu de nombreuses bonnes années ; en 1795, 1796 et 1797, les usines et les commerces se sont très bien portés puis, comme mentionné plus tôt, le « Baasen » (maitre N. d. T.) a donné six à sept Mercks pour faire tourner un fil."

Du point de vue économique, les fabricants de tissus eupenois ont connu une certaine prospérité jusqu'en 1815, grâce au blocus continental français. Les ouvriers du textile, les filateurs et les coupeurs de tissus ont perçu de bons salaires ; les fabricants de tissus ont fait des affaires en or. Mais le journal du jeune apprenti tailleur nous apprend également que les innovations de la Révolution française, que nous considérons aujourd'hui comme de grandes réussites, ne lui ont pas paru favorables. Pour lui, son salaire était la priorité.

La situation était radicalement différente dans la partie sud de l’actuelle Communauté Germanophone. Cette région rurale vivait principalement de l'agriculture, de la maroquinerie et du commerce entre la Rhénanie et les Ardennes. Cependant, son économie ne s’est pas redressée, ce qui explique peut-être aussi le rejet massif des nombreuses réformes auprès de la population catholique-conservatrice.

En 1798, les jeunes agriculteurs se dressèrent contre l'occupant français. Ils s’insurgèrent contre les hausses d’impôts et la conscription dans l'armée française. Dans l’actuel Luxembourg, l'Eifel allemande, mais aussi à Sankt Vith, Büllingen, Amel, Bütgenbach et Burg-Reuland, les insurgés se rassemblaient avec les armes les plus simples. A peine quelques unités de l'armée française suffirent pour écraser le soulèvement en l’espace de quelques semaines.

En général, les occupants français étaient impopulaires. Louis François Thomassin, fonctionnaire liégeois de l'administration fiscale française, écrit dans son mémoire « Mémoire statistique du Département de l'Ourthe » en 1806 et 1813, à propos de la région de l’Eifel-Ardennes : « Les habitants de ces cantons ont perdu tout espoir d'améliorer leur agriculture. Ils sont convaincus que – jusqu’à présent - toutes les tentatives ont été prises au détriment des agriculteurs et qu'ils ont été contraints de reprendre leurs habitudes traditionnelles ».

Je me demande ce que pensaient ces simples paysans. Si, selon Thomassin, ils ne pouvaient imaginer pouvoir améliorer leur situation économique, étaient-ils en mesure de prévoir les conséquences des innovations politiques ? Je me demande aussi où et comment ces personnes ont été affectées par la révolution.

Les plus anciennes œuvres historiques du XIXe siècle semblent indiquer que de nombreux auteurs régionaux rejetaient la Révolution française – en tout ou en partie - pour des raisons idéologiques. Ils avaient intériorisé le rejet de la population de l'époque et, en même temps, idéalisé le deuil de l'ancien ordre aux Pays-Bas autrichiens. Le meilleur exemple est la Guerre des Paysans. Leurs participants ont été élevés au rang de héros, plus particulièrement par l’Eglise. Pourquoi ? Car, selon l’Eglise, ils constituaient un rempart aux Temps Modernes. Mais la plupart d'entre eux s’étaient avant tout érigés contre l’enrôlement dans l'armée française ou la hausse des impôts.

Ein

Un monument aux morts de 1805-1815. Copyright: Carlo Lejeune 

Les associations historiques ont apporté un éclairage particulier sur cette période de l’histoire de Ostbelgien, plus particulièrement après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, dans la mesure où cette période était considérée comme politiquement anodine. Depuis les années 1980, les œuvres d'Alfred Minke ont renvoyé pour la première fois une image plus circonstanciée des conséquences de la Révolution française en Communauté Germanophone.

Le désenchantement politique est omniprésent dans les débats publics de notre époque. Selon toi, ces personnes sont-elles insatisfaites du travail des politiciens ou sont-elles méfiantes vis-à-vis du système démocratique dans son ensemble ? Selon toi, les hommes politiques actuels continuent-ils à défendre les droits de l'homme et la démocratie ? Selon toi, la démocratie tente-t-elle de trouver les meilleures solutions pour le vivre ensemble ? Penses-tu que les partis populistes défendent eux aussi les droits de l'homme et se réclament des idéaux de la Révolution française ? Quelles conséquences leurs politiques auraient-elles sur notre démocratie ?

 

Conseils de lecture :

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.) : Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code Civil, beschleunigte Moderne, Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2016.

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kataster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

 

Références :

La citation de l’apprenti tailleur Johann Caspar Scheen provient de :

Alfred Minke: Die Französische Revolution aus der Sicht des Johann Caspar Scheen, Schneiderlehrling aus Eupen, in: Geschichtliches Eupen 24 (1990), S. 19-48

La citation du fonctionnaire de l'administration fiscale Louis François Thomassins provient de :

Josef Dries: Landwirtschaft auf dem Weg zur Monokultur. Klima, Märkte und Strukturen als beständige Herausforderungen, in Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code civil, beschleunigte Moderne und Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2017, S. 142-163.

  • 1809

    Sekundarschule Eupen

  • 1803

    Pfarraufteilung

  • 1795

    Gemeindeunterricht

    Beginn des Gemeindeunterrichts unter staatlicher Aufsicht.

  • 1794

    Priesterverfolgung

    Beginn der Priesterverfolgung